
krickets416 |
So I ran into a snag last night with my sylvan sorcerer and Enlarge person. My GM said he wouldn't allow it because the spells must be from the druid list. What do yoou guys think? It doesn't say anywhere about the spell list restrictions, but I had heard of other places that indeed made use of this:
( https://docs.google.com/document/pub?id=14idaW3mxJ7YL0yVCcBEsKd6H_5KbL8SteX Tk0PUk4E0 ) and if that doesnt work here's the link to the d20 pfsrd link...
( https://sites.google.com/site/pathfinderogc/extras/community-creations/cart manbeck-s-lab/magic-in-the-blood-a-guide-to-eldritch-heritage-and-sorcerer- bloodlines ) The guy even mentions using it in society play...

MC Templar |

I would allow it and rule since received the class feature as a sorcerer, you can only share spells on your sorcerer list.
But I do not have a good RAW to back that up. Closest I can come is a common sense listing in the FAQ that some of those class-based limitations are simply intended for that class, and an archetype from another class would interact in a way that is intuitive to that class's abilities
Sorcerer: Does a sorcerer with the sage bloodline (page 72) use her Int or Cha to determine uses per day of arcane bolt?
The sage sorcerer uses her Int to determine the number of daily uses of her bloodline powers, including arcane bolt. Therefore, whether arcane bolt lists Int or Cha, the sage sorcerer still uses her Int.
The bloodline power lists Cha because that's the standard terminology for sorcerer bloodlines (because all other sorcerers use Cha), and because there may be a way for a non-sorcerer to gain access to that bloodline power, in which case it should be based on Cha (like other sorcerer bloodline powers) instead of Int.

![]() |

So I ran into a snag last night with my sylvan sorcerer and Enlarge person. My GM said he wouldn't allow it because the spells must be from the druid list. What do yoou guys think? It doesn't say anywhere about the spell list restrictions, but I had heard of other places that indeed made use of this:
( https://docs.google.com/document/pub?id=14idaW3mxJ7YL0yVCcBEsKd6H_5KbL8SteX Tk0PUk4E0 ) and if that doesnt work here's the link to the d20 pfsrd link...
( https://sites.google.com/site/pathfinderogc/extras/community-creations/cart manbeck-s-lab/magic-in-the-blood-a-guide-to-eldritch-heritage-and-sorcerer- bloodlines ) The guy even mentions using it in society play...
It always blows my mind when someone quotes my work... thanks for that!
Here's what I can tell you. There's nothing in the rules that says specifically that a Sylvan Sorcerer or a Nature Oracle can't cast spells from their spell list on their companions. If they weren't allowed to, then the share spells ability would be essentially useless for those characters.
As further evidence: This past weekend I played in a game that was run by Mike Brock (the guy in charge of Pathfinder Society in the whole of the USA). I had a Sylvan Sorcerer, and he had no problem with me using enlarge person on my companion dinosaur. That's the closest to a developer decision I can give you, though.

![]() |

I like to start with the rules, so here goes.
First: You get your AC from Sorcerer class:
Animal Companion (Ex):
You gain an animal companion.
Your effective druid level for this ability is equal to
your sorcerer level – 3 (minimum 1st). This bloodline
power counts as your bloodline arcana and also replaces
laughing touch.
Second: You can only share spells granted by the class that grants the AC.
Share Spells (Ex):
The druid may cast a spell with a target
of “You” on her animal companion (as a spell with a range
of touch) instead of on herself. A druid may cast spells on
her animal companion even if the spells normally do not
affect creatures of the companion’s type (animal). Spells
cast in this way must come from a class that grants an
animal companion. This ability does not allow the animal
to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function
like spells.
Note: this does not call out the Druid class spell list, rather; it calls out the class that grants the Animal Companion, in this case Sorcerer.
Third: Alter Self is a Sorcerer spell.
Alter Self
School transmutation (polymorph); Level bard 2, sorcerer/wizard 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (a piece of the creature whose form you plan
to assume)
Range personal
Target you
[/b]Duration[/b] 1 min./level (D)
When you cast this spell, you can assume the form of any
Small or Medium creature of the humanoid type. If the form
you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the
listed ability: darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision, scent, and
swim 30 feet.
Small creature: If the form you take is that of a Small humanoid,
you gain a +2 size bonus to your Dexterity.
Medium creature: If the form you take is that of a Medium
humanoid, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Strength.
Analysis:
1) The class granting the Animal Companion is Sorcerer.2) The spell is on the Sorcerer class's spell list.
3) Spell targets 'you'.
Conclusion:
You can cast the Alter Self spell on your Animal Companion at range of Touch.
You cannot use a Spell Like Ability that emulates Alter Self on your Animal Companion.