Elven Spell Bound


Rules Questions


So the elven Spell Bond ability (from the Spell Bonded wizard archetype in the Advanced Race Guide) allows elves to take a full round action to convert a prepared spell into a spell that they have bonded with.

My question is whether or not this full round action converts and casts or just converts the spell?

I'd assume it just converts but I wanted to be sure.


It's a full round to convert and cast.


The ability mentions absolutely nothing about replacing and casting, neither in the fluff or the actual description. It only mentions that you can spend a full-round action to convert a prepared spell into a bonded spell. So, the ability only converts spells. That being said, I don't think it would be a big deal if the ability actually did let you replace and cast a bonded spell at the same time.


I don't have my books in front of me. Can someone link or paste the exact wording please?


Basically, it makes this type of wizard more like a spontaneous caster, but with a price. Unless you really can replace and cast bonded spells simultaneously, I don't think it's a very strong option. Here's the text for the ability, but only the first paragraph is relevant.

Spell Bond (Su):
At 1st level, a spellbinder selects any one spell that he knows as a bonded spell. As a full-round action, the spellbinder may replace a spell of the same or higher level as his bonded spell with his bonded spell. For example, a spellbinder who selects magic missile as his bonded spell could spend a full-round action to exchange any 1st-level or higher spell that he has prepared with magic missile. At 3rd level, and every two levels thereafter, a spellbinder may select another spell he knows and add it to his list of bonded spells, to a maximum of nine bonded spells at 17th level.
Upon reaching 4th level, and every two levels thereafter, a spellbinder can choose to select a new spell as a bonded spell in place of one with which he is already bonded. In effect, the spellbinder loses the bond with the old spell (though it is still one of his spells known) in exchange for forging a spell bond with a new spell. The new spell’s level must be the same as that of the spell being exchanged. A spellbinder may swap only one spell bond at any given level, and must choose whether or not to swap the spell bond at the same time that he gains two new spells known for the level.
This ability replaces arcane bond.


Based on the exact wording I stand corrected. It's a full round to replace a spell with another. Then a standard (or longer depending on the exact spell) to cast it.

Of course this only replaced the bonded feature, so it's not a terrible option for some on the fly versatility.

I think i'd save it for long casting time bonded spells that you could potentially use daily. Or spells that when you need them you REALLY need them, but they dont' come up that often. Protection from energy for example.


Alright, I just wanted to be sure.

My brother is building an elf spell bond universalist wizard the Fast Study and Spli-Slot discoveries. Combined with gaining spells memorized with Spell Mastery feat, he will never need his spell book to actualy have access to a majority of his spells.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Elven Spell Bound All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions