Deeper Darkness and Dispell magic


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

So here's the scenario: The whole group has darkvision, is deep below the earth and they find themselves fighting a creature that used deeper darkness and caught the whole party in it. So the question/discussion became 'can you use dispel magic to dispel deeper darkness?

One argument was 'you can see the darkness and thus can dispel the spell effect'

The other is 'you are unable to see IN magical darkness and thus can not target the effect.'

We know the whole daylight/darkness counter rules, but what about dispel magic to remove an existing AoE effect? If it can be used to remove DD then why not unhallow?

Thanks for info.


Yes you can as per dispel magic, targeted dispel and you have line of effect to the DD. If you read the spell it explains why unhallow cannot be dispelled.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Here's the thing: DD eliminates their vision, so as per the pathfinder lexicon on line of effect:"A line of effect starts from any corner of your square and extends to the limit of its range or until it strikes a barrier that would block it."

So without being able to target the source of the spell, the line of effect rule screws up the chances of dispel working, barring it hitting a random barrier....


Line of effect and line of sight can be two different things. Line of effect can be blocked by a window while line of sight is still possible. In your question the reverse is happening, LoS is blocked but they are within LoE.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

yeah, and according to the lexi the loe would mean dispel has to intersect the creature/object that is the source of the dd (say, a flying demon). Really unlikely they'd pull off the random hit w/ that in effect.

So the followup question would be: If they were outside of the darkness sphere, could they dispel the entire spell by targeting the edge of the effect and NOT the source? If the answer would be no... they the same stands for what they can do inside the sphere.


You don't have to see the source to be able to dispel the effect of an area spell. When dealing with a spell like Bulls Strength or Fly, the effect is totally on the creature so you would need to target it. We're dealing with an effect that is an area, as long as you can get LoE to some part of the spell effect you can target it, in your situation the caster is in the area, thus immediate LoE.

Edit: If the situation were trying to dispel every/any magic effect on a creature, object or area, then the "source" would have to be targeted or at least with in the area of the dispel. That isn't the same as selecting an ongoing effect and attempting to dispel it.


Dispel Magic does not dispel by area. Greater dispel magic does.
Just wanted to make that clear.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

"For each ongoing area or effect spell whose point of origin is within the area of the greater dispel magic spell, apply the dispel check to dispel the spell."

So if Greater Dispel has this limitation to dispeling an area effect, then lesser dispel can't do crap if the LoE for the spell does not intersect the point of origin for the Deeper Darkness?


wraithstrike wrote:

Dispel Magic does not dispel by area. Greater dispel magic does.

Just wanted to make that clear.

Disjunction is more fun though!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Zer01337 wrote:

"For each ongoing area or effect spell whose point of origin is within the area of the greater dispel magic spell, apply the dispel check to dispel the spell."

So if Greater Dispel has this limitation to dispeling an area effect, then lesser dispel can't do crap if the LoE for the spell does not intersect the point of origin for the Deeper Darkness?

Pretty much. With Dispel magic you would have to target the source of the emanation.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

which is what I thought.


Zer01337 wrote:

"For each ongoing area or effect spell whose point of origin is within the area of the greater dispel magic spell, apply the dispel check to dispel the spell."

So if Greater Dispel has this limitation to dispeling an area effect, then lesser dispel can't do crap if the LoE for the spell does not intersect the point of origin for the Deeper Darkness?

Incorrect.

Dispel Magic 3rd Level wrote:
You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way. If your caster level check is equal to or higher than the DC of that spell, it ends. No other spells or effects on the target are dispelled if your check is not high enough to end the targeted effect.

You need not have LoE to the "source" just the area of effect of the spell/spell like effect.


wraithstrike wrote:
Zer01337 wrote:

"For each ongoing area or effect spell whose point of origin is within the area of the greater dispel magic spell, apply the dispel check to dispel the spell."

So if Greater Dispel has this limitation to dispeling an area effect, then lesser dispel can't do crap if the LoE for the spell does not intersect the point of origin for the Deeper Darkness?

Pretty much. With Dispel magic you would have to target the source of the emanation.

Re-read the spell.


Good catch
Let's try this again. If you can name the spell you can end the entire spell if you use dispel magic or greater dispel magic on area spells, assuming you use it as a targeted effect.

If you just try to cast it greater dispel magic as an area affect then you only get rid of the area of the spell that was covered by the radius of greater dispel magic.


Dingding!


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

But the issue still is: If you can't see the source of the radiant effect (i.e. the source of the dd) can you dispel the effect without LoS? Since LoS is blocked by darkness and you need LoS to target something and LoE to get there... Reading the lexicon LoE continues until hitting a barrier... and since DD is not solid....


LoS and LoE are not the same as I explained earlier. LoS is blocked because they cannot see through the darkness that they are standing in, LoE to that effect is still possible. The source is irrelevant as you have LoE to the effect itself.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You cannot target something you cannot see unless you are touching it. That is a general rule for spells.

I'm pretty certain that if you are inside a spell's effect, you are considered to be "touching" it. What's more, as has been said, dispel magic has a specific exception, allowing you to target any spell effect you have identified and can name.


You do have to be able to see the target it.
By the rules if something has concealment it can't be targeted with "target" spells.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You can target something with concealment, wraithstrike. It's when you can no longer see it (total concealment or a good stealth check) that targeting becomes more difficult (as described in my previous post).


wraithstrike wrote:

You do have to be able to see the target it.

By the rules if something has concealment it can't be targeted with "target" spells.

You can "see" the deeper darkness, you just cannot see through it...


Skylancer4 wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:

You do have to be able to see the target it.

By the rules if something has concealment it can't be targeted with "target" spells.
You can "see" the deeper darkness, you just cannot see through it...

I keep thinking you have to target the object it is cast on, and we just had that discussion. It is hard to get rid of old habits. :)


Ravingdork wrote:
You can target something with concealment, wraithstrike. It's when you can no longer see it (total concealment or a good stealth check) that targeting becomes more difficult (as described in my previous post).

That is what I meant. I just used the wrong game term.


Pardon the thread necro but I couldn't let this semi-consensus stand:

Deeper darkness is a target object spell, not an area spell. It CANNOT be dispelled by Dispel Magic unless you cast dispel on the object, because it only targets the object, not the area.


Yes it is, by its very function as an emanation AoE from the targeted object. One also has to keep in mind that deeper darkness reduces the ambient light level by two steps. In the OP's case it's supernaturally dark. In other cases it may not be enough to stop at the least low-light vision from functioning.

For me this is a function of the "common sense clause". If the caster identifies the spell successfully, they can then name it and attempt to dispel it. Otherwise, they're forced to fire up a daylight or higher SL light spell to counter it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Deeper Darkness and Dispell magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.