Question about Readying an Action


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Under the Combat section of the PRD, it states the following about Readied actions (LINK):
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action.

You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action.

I had always understood readying an action meant that a player could ready one or more types of actions in a single turn and when the trigger occurred, they could take any or all of those action. For example, I could ready a move action to move if an opponent charged as well as ready a standard action to attack (with my bow) if they charged.

If I am reading the rules correctly, since it costs a standard action to ready an action, only one action can be readied in a given turn...and when the trigger occurs, I can only take THAT action. Is this correct?

For example, I ready a standard action to attack a foe when they move adjacent to me. When this triggers, I can take my standard action to attack, but I cannot take a move, swift, or free action.

Second example, I ready a free action to call out to a party member when I see them. When it triggers, the only thing that occurs is that I use the free action. I cannot use a standard, move, swift, or any additional free actions.


Even if you ready a free action, it cost a standard action.

Yeah your examples are correct. Readying is very limiting which is why I don't use it that much.

It is legal however to take your move action and then ready an action, IIRC.


The three most common ways I see readied actions used are:

1) I ready an action to attack anyone who steps into the ambush spot (typically declared while waiting for someone to step through a door, actually)

2) I ready an action to attack the first non-friendly who steps into range (typically called by someone using a reach weapon who wants to keep them from actually reaching him . . ..)

3) I ready an action to shoot the first enemy I see trying to cast a spell

The best use of reading an action, IMO? I ready an action to Dispel an enemy spell caster's spell.

It most certainly has a place and use within the system. It is not the ultimate answer to much, though.

Liberty's Edge

When you ready a action your action is resolved before the triggering action is complete, so it can disrupt it.
If you want to have multiple options you delay your action. With a delayed action you can't interrupt another person turn but you keep your full turn of action and full choice of actions.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks for the confirmation. I learned something today. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Readying an Action All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions