Polymorph Any Object


Rules Questions


There was disagreement in 3.5 as well as to what PAO did. In Pathfinder, polymorph any object "changes one object or creature into another." Based on the examples, it can transform inanimate objects into creatures; hit dice differences are no factor. Surely it can grant me uber bennies for an eighth(!) level spell!

The main controversy is this line:

"This spell functions like greater polymorph, except that it changes one object or creature into another. You can use this spell to transform all manner of objects and creatures into new forms- you aren't limited to transforming a living creature into another living form."

So PAO functions "like" a lesser spell, but... This seems like DM judgement.

I planned to advocate to my DM using 3.5's PAO in Pathfinder. If I wanted to turn my Elf Wizard into a Planetar, I'd rule that these would replace the respective aspects on my current form:

-STR, DEX, CON, and INT scores
-(Ex) special attacks
-(Ex) movement modes
-Natural armor bonus
-Size
-(Ex) senses (Darkvision, Low-Light Vision, Blindsense, Blindsight)
-Racial bonus feats and skill modifiers
-Natural weapons
-Physical form (limb count, ability to speak, presence/absense of a body part)

I'd keep these aspects of myself:
-Alignment
-BAB and base saves
-Class abilities, including my ability to cast spells if the new form can use somatic and verbal components
-Creature type and subtypes

Gaining these aspects of my new form is probably asking for trouble:
-Spell-like abilities
-Supernatural abilities
-Special qualities

What do you think polymorph any object should grant as an eighth level spell?


Endarire wrote:


What do you think polymorph any object should grant as an eighth level spell?

I believe you are making a mistake by using the old type of polymorph were you gain the exact attributes of the creature you polymorph into.

Polymorph spells is explicitly changed into giving certain bonusses to your stats as well as some special abilities.

Since PAO functions like greater polymorph, you are limited to the choices availiable in that spell.

PAO states directly that a target without physical abilities gain 10 in each, and 5 in each of the mental abilities. Since that is made clear, I think it is safe to assume that the target does not gain the ability scores of the creature polymorphed into.

Since there as list of which spells it can duplicate, I'd go by these, apart from the possiblity of changing creatures into inanimate objects and the other way around.


Le sigh. At least there's simulacrum.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Endarire wrote:
Le sigh. At least there's simulacrum.

Which is damn near unplayable in its vagueness.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Polymorph Any Object All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions