Question for MapTool users: Line of Sight


Technology


I have a question about line of sight parameters in MapTool and whether it represents how it's supposed to work in Pathfinder.

One of my players argues that PFRPG rules state that if you can see any part of a square, then you can see the entire square. However, I can't find that reference in the PFRPG rules.

I've been ruling that if the target token doesn't show up in your token's visible area, then you can't see it. I've been trying to give players the benefit of the doubt, but I'm finding the line-of-sight to be very useful in determining what can and can't be seen by a character who's, say, standing in a hallway, looking into a room from 10 feet away.

Anyone else having difficulty with this parameter for PF games?


Dot. I never used Maptools extensively, but I'm interested in learning.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber
Haladir wrote:

I have a question about line of sight parameters in MapTool and whether it represents how it's supposed to work in Pathfinder.

One of my players argues that PFRPG rules state that if you can see any part of a square, then you can see the entire square. However, I can't find that reference in the PFRPG rules.

The rules on concealment state that if any corner of the opponent's square is not visible from a corner (chosen by you) of your square, the opponent has concealment from ranged attacks. But in order to have concealment from a melee attack from an adjacent square, the entire square must not be visible. So your player is correctly describing the rule for short-range melee attacks, but this rule does not apply to ranged attacks (or to melee attacks that require reach greater than 5').


Your player is correct. Rules for cover (What JohnF said, except he meant "cover", not "concealment"):
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#cover

This does give you weird situations in Maptools. In Maptools you'll have line of sight only to a small part of one corner and thus you really can't see the token that is there in the program. By Pathfinder rules though, you can attack that square at range with the target having +4 cover.


DMFTodd wrote:

Your player is correct. Rules for cover (What JohnF said, except he meant "cover", not "concealment"):

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#cover

This does give you weird situations in Maptools. In Maptools you'll have line of sight only to a small part of one corner and thus you really can't see the token that is there in the program. By Pathfinder rules though, you can attack that square at range with the target having +4 cover.

Ok-- thanks!

That means I'm 0-3 regarding my table rulings from last night's session. I guess I'm springing for pizza next week!


Yeah, I just use the half cover rules.

Then again, you can imagine this exact same issue being weird with miniatures as well. weirder even, because some minis have bits sticking out way past the base.

Community / Forums / Gamer Life / Entertainment / Technology / Question for MapTool users: Line of Sight All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Technology