Closing Portable Hole from the Inside


Rules Questions


Hi!

I'm having a bit of a dispute with my DM in regards to the use of a portale hole.

I claim that you can close a portable hole from the inside and no trace of it would exist in the material plane. I realize that the hole would be dark and have a very limited air supply, but the main bone of contention here is whether there would be anything left in the material plane that someone could, for example, find and open.

My DM claims that a small handkerchief-sized, folded up, portable hole would still exist in the material plane, and that someone could open it, ruining the PCs hiding place.

I *swear* it works my way, and has for the past four decades...but he claims that it doesn't read that way in Pathfinder. Even the logical impossibilities his version creates don't seem to bother him.

Help!

Dark Archive

From the PRD: linkage to PRD

Quote:
A portable hole is a circle of cloth spun from the webs of a phase spider interwoven with strands of ether and beams of starlight, resulting in a portable extradimensional space. When opened fully, a portable hole is 6 feet in diameter, but it can be folded up to be as small as a pocket handkerchief. When spread upon any surface, it causes an extradimensional space 10 feet deep to come into being. This hole can be picked up from inside or out by simply taking hold of the edges of the cloth and folding it up. Either way, the entrance disappears, but anything inside the hole remains, traveling with the item.

This seems to point that you can open it via either outside or in and the entrance disappears.

I would say that there is no trace left when it is picked up from the inside.


The text for portable hole does seem, to me, to support your view.

However, I would say that there would be a handkerchief sized piece left over, mostly because if you can pull the entire portable hole inside with you, you would be trap and unable to escape/access the portable hole without some manner of transplanar magic.

If no portion of the portable hole remains on the material plane, that it cannot be reopened onto the material plane. If I was the DM, and in a playful/foul mood, I would have it be recursive. You open the top and see yourself openning the top.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

There are, indeed, all sorts of interesting tricks you can do with this kind of thing. I once allowed my players to come across a magic flask that could, with the right invocation, act as a kind of portable hole (I believe I took the idea from Rick Cook's "Wizards's World" books).

It can be used to circumvent most barriers (most barred windows, etc., don't have bars close enough together to prevent a flask passing between them), get over 15' walls, etc. But it could still serve as a mundane flask, so it would pass casual scrutiny.


If you take it literally by wording, it does not get any smaller than a folded up handkerchief (as small as, by wording), then you also have take it literally that once folded up from INSIDE (or outside) the entrance disappears. With that said, you can open it from inside or outside the same, as ONLY the entrance disappears, not the item.

You would be incorrect that no trace of the ITEM remains on the material plane, but correct in the fact that the OPENING does not exist on the material plane.

You would also be incorrect for arguing with the DM after he has made his ruling....his job it to keep the game running smoothly and not be bogged down all night arguing over rules.


Randy Lockard wrote:
You would also be incorrect for arguing with the DM after he has made his ruling....his job it to keep the game running smoothly and not be bogged down all night arguing over rules.

The arguing of which you speak took no more than five minutes, and it took place during a level-up/item purchasing phase at the beginning of the session before we started play proper. And once he read the item description and 'made his ruling', I put a pin in it and jumped on Paizo to search the forums while our item crafter was making items for the group. After reading healthy chunks of 15-20 threads and coming up empty, I posted the exact question here and got back to the game - even though we didn't start actual play for another half an hour. Everyone, including the DM was still doing prep work.

Also, DMs can be wrong. Our DM played 3.5 so extensively for so long that he often confuses 3.5 rules with Pathfinder rules. He also unshakably believes that he is always correct as well as ascribing to the 'DM has the final say' philosophy, a philosophy which you share. The reality is that it is everyone's responsibility to keep the game running smoothly and it is also everyone's responsibility to make sure that the rules are followed.

Putting all that responsibility on the DM only creates problems. Like spending a significant percentage of the party loot on a major magic item and then being told that you can't use it the way you expected to use it.


Bif,

I believe you will not get the support you are so clearly wanting here as to debating/arguing with the DM.

DM's can indeed be wrong, but are NEVER wrong in making a decision to keep the game running smoothy. I have been running games for well over 25 years and I can tell you that NOTHING ruins having fun worse than rules-lawyers wanting to argue for an hour over little things.

And as for how I look at running games, I will certainly listen to your concerns, but after hearing all of the issues, will make the decision and we will move on.

I understand you are upset that the item did not work the way you intended (although it clearly states "as small as a handkerchief"), but it still a party-staple item that is so useful it is almost required. You can still use it like you wanted. Find an out-of-the-way spot to use it in.


Randy Lockard wrote:

Bif,

DM's can indeed be wrong, but are NEVER wrong in making a decision to keep the game running smoothy. I have been running games for well over 25 years and I can tell you that NOTHING ruins having fun worse than rules-lawyers wanting to argue for an hour over little things.

Since I have explained, in detail, when and how this dispute came about, it should be perfectly clear that this situation isn't a case of a rules lawyer arguing for an hour over a little thing. In fact, this situation is the exact opposite.

I can only assume that, in your 25 years of experience, you have become so jaded by the nit-picking rules-lawyer (in our circle, we call this person a 'Paul', forever immortalziing a certain player) that you believe that any questioning of a DMs ultimate power is an affront to the purity and sanctity of game mastering. Okay, so I am being a bit ridiculous here - but it illustrates the point.

The point being that I asked a question about how a magic item worked, because every DM and player that I have played with since forever has understood it to work the way I described. And it's silly that if I were a DM complaining about a player on this issue, I would "get the support you are so clearly wanting". Think about that! Since I have done more DMing than player-ing over the years, does that mean if I have a dispute with person over a rules issue, the only thing that matters is if I happened to be DMing that particular campaign? Even if it is the same issue, and the same person?

It just gets silly. If your concern is disruption of the game, I've explained that I very specifically did not disrupt the game. Beyond that, are you really saying that the DM is always right, no matter what? Come now, Randy. While it is true that nothing can ruin an evening more than a rules-lawyer nitpicking for an hour, you forget how nothing can end a campaign faster than a DM who makes arbitrary decisions over and over again because "he can ".


I wasn't intending to get into a squabble over DM-always-rght vs. Rules-Lawyering with you, nor make a personal attack. Your original post had you in a disagreement with your DMs call of the Portable Hole.

The original statement I made was that the description CLEARLY states that the Portable Hole can be folded up "as small as a handkerchief" and that only the opening disappears.

You stated that your DM ignores the " logical impossibilities his version creates don't seem to bother him" but your idea of how the item should work is even worse. You claim "that you can close a portable hole from the inside and no trace of it would exist in the material plane"......how would you even open it again if "no trace of it exists on the Material Plane?". Would it not simply be gone forever? If your answer is "No, some trace of it remains" then you MUST go with the item description as to how small it can be made (and thus picked up and opened from the outside).

I am not jaded from years of DMing at all. As I stated I listen to players objections and make the ruling that needs to be made to go on with the advanture. Not a single person benefits from arguing all night about rules. If the player is right, the player is right. If the player is wrong then he/she needs to get over it and go with the DM ruling.

<<<---- Olive Branch. Argument and bad feelins over I hope.


Ok... disputes aside this was the discussion as I presented it when it came in one of my groups. I want to be clear, we decided to house-rule it so it functioned like Bif is suggesting. But it was a house-rule, so very much not RAW.

The problem with the Portable Hole as a hiding spot is one that exists in 3.5 and Pathfinder (and the reading is very similar in both). If you close a portable hole from the inside and somehow pull it inside itself, where does it open to? Some would say that "logic" dictates it opens to the last place it was set down. However, it doesn't say that. It clearly says the things inside "travel with the item." Well if there is no trace of it left in the material plan, the item is inside itself. Logic just left the building. Spreading it out would lead nowhere or function like some weird Aperture portal.

To work, the item has to remain in the mortal plane when closed, OR you have to house rule that it opens back to the last place it was. I can hear people saying, "But it says you can close it from inside." Correct. I can also lock myself out of my own car. It doesn't make either an advised choice. Allowing the portal to be pulled inside itself only works if the player can then somehow leave a non-dimensional space. I honestly don't know if there are any spells that can do that.


Love the Keys/Car analogy.


Randy Lockard wrote:


<<<---- Olive Branch. Argument and bad feelins over I hope.

Olive branch accepted. Back to talk about the item.

As I have always understood portable holes, when you fold up the hole into handkerchief mode, it closes the opening completely. If you were to climb in the hole and pull it in after you, you would wind up inside the hole, with the folded up hole (the handkerchief) on the inside. The opening on the material plane would disappear, just as the opening on the inside disappears when you close it from the outside.

Consider if the portable hole was a gateway between two material planes, instead. Depending on which side of the hole you closed it from, would you expect the handkerchief to exist on the other side?

In the mists of memory, I think I read an article (in Dragon or another periodical) about unexpected things you can do with common magic items. I'll have to dig deep to find this reference, but maybe it will shed some light.


Reading it the way it's written, it would seem to me that if you close it from the inside, you're left with a hankerchief sized cloth on the inside of the hole and nothing exists on the outside.

If you open the hole again while inside, the hole would open to the spot you closed it at because it technically hasn't moved.

Grand Lodge

I tell my players how are you going to ask that question? I tell them that your research indicates that if you're successful in fully closing the hole from the inside you may succeed in creating the perfect hiding place. Or that you may succeed in permanently disconnecting yourself from the entire planar structure creating a space that you can't plane shift, teleport, or gate out of.

Then I tell them that there's one way to find out......


LazarX wrote:

I tell my players how are you going to ask that question? I tell them that your research indicates that if you're successful in fully closing the hole from the inside you may succeed in creating the perfect hiding place. Or that you may succeed in permanently disconnecting yourself from the entire planar structure creating a space that you can't plane shift, teleport, or gate out of.

Then I tell them that there's one way to find out......

And what if they do it anyway? You still have to make a decision.

I think the idea that you'd be trapped forever is ridiculous because they wouldn't bother telling you you can close it from the inside if it means the death of the character anyway.

The only thing I think is in question here is whether there is a black cloth left behind in the real world when you close the whole.

I don't think there is because if you close it from the inside, then you have the cloth in your hands.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Closing Portable Hole from the Inside All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions