Miasmatic Form in Society Play


Pathfinder Society

Scarab Sages 5/5 **** Venture-Captain, Oregon—Portland

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

How does the material component for the Miasmatic Cloud spell from Advanced Race Guide work? I know that whenever a component is listed with a price, in this case a contact or inhaled poison worth 100gp for the Poisonous Cloud option, then it must be purchased just like any item. However, as far as poisons in society play go, the FAQ page says

FAQ wrote:


Any character with the Poison Use class ability can purchase and use poisons. For now, they are the only classes that have a list of “always available poisons” (those noted below)—no other class may purchase poisons unless they appear on a chronicle sheet. Alchemists, ninja, and poisoner rogues may only purchase the following poisons from the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook:

Giant wasp poison
Large scorpion venom
Medium spider venom
Shadow essence
Small centipede poison

Paladins, per their code of conduct, may not use poisons, but they don’t necessarily view the use of poisons as an evil to be opposed—it’s simply something their code prohibits them from doing themselves.

Alchemists and rogues with the poisoner archetype and the Master Poisoner ability can use Craft (alchemy) to produce poisons (see "How can alchemists craft in Pathfinder Society Organized Play?").

Is the poisonous version of the spell allowed, or not? Or Do we just hand-wave the specifics and say a poison of some sort worth 100gp was purchased for this spell?

Scarab Sages

I know that it's a pedantic little detail, but, I suspect that the spell to which you are referring is actually Miasmatic Form, as you said in the thread title, rather than Cloud in the post itself.
But, its two versions are Stinking Cloud and Poisonous Cloud, so it's an easy typo.

Scarab Sages 5/5 **** Venture-Captain, Oregon—Portland

Oh wow, can't believe I did that but yes, you are correct. I meant Miasmatic Form.

2/5

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

This is a bit confusing due to the wording, but because Miasmatic Form doesn't actually cause the poison component's effects(because the effect is caused by the spell), rather than purchasing an actual poison you only need to buy a 'poison' spell component.

Scarab Sages

I'm gonna have to disagree with that line of thought. There is no difference between purchasing a spell component and regular items. If a spell, for example, calls for a gold ring to be purchased, it is the same type of gold ring that can be considered jewelry for the sake of a noble's outfit.
And certainly, the component isn't actually what causes the damage, but, much as a vial of acid worth 10gp is necessary for Acid Splash, there is no "other" kind of acid, only "actual acid".

The rules do not offer any support for the idea that there are other types of poison other than "actual poison". A poison listed on the poison chart, or other resource, is what is needed (as long as it meets the requirements of being one that costs 100+ Gp ... which, to me, presumably means that it costs so much because it's potent.)

5/5

PFS restricts which classes can buy poison. If your character's class isn't allowed to buy poison, you won't be able to buy the spell component for miasmatic form.

Dark Archive 3/5 **

Kyle Baird wrote:
PFS restricts which classes can buy poison. If your character's class isn't allowed to buy poison, you won't be able to buy the spell component for miasmatic form.

Unless the poison is found/accessed through a chronicle sheet, correct?

5/5

bdk86 wrote:
Kyle Baird wrote:
PFS restricts which classes can buy poison. If your character's class isn't allowed to buy poison, you won't be able to buy the spell component for miasmatic form.
Unless the poison is found/accessed through a chronicle sheet, correct?

Correct.

Scarab Sages

Sean H wrote:
This is a bit confusing due to the wording, but because Miasmatic Form doesn't actually cause the poison component's effects(because the effect is caused by the spell), rather than purchasing an actual poison you only need to buy a 'poison' spell component.

As a side comment, without reskinning couldn't the argument be made that 100 gp of lead would count? Or alcohol? Poisons come in lots of forms...

5/5

Stonecunning wrote:
alcohol?

The nectar of the gods?

Sczarni 5/5 * Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Pullman

Stonecunning wrote:
alcohol?

Sweet Mana of life!

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Stonecunning wrote:
Sean H wrote:
This is a bit confusing due to the wording, but because Miasmatic Form doesn't actually cause the poison component's effects(because the effect is caused by the spell), rather than purchasing an actual poison you only need to buy a 'poison' spell component.
As a side comment, without reskinning couldn't the argument be made that 100 gp of lead would count? Or alcohol? Poisons come in lots of forms...

In Pathfinder, Lead and Alcohol are not considered poisons.

Grand Lodge 1/5

Andrew Christian wrote:


In Pathfinder, Lead and Alcohol are not considered poisons.

My last character death was due to lead poisoning. Blade to the spleen.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Akeela Valerian, the Wolf wrote:
Andrew Christian wrote:


In Pathfinder, Lead and Alcohol are not considered poisons.

My last character death was due to lead poisoning. Blade to the spleen.

Swords are made of lead these days?

Grand Lodge 1/5

Andrew Christian wrote:
Akeela Valerian, the Wolf wrote:
Andrew Christian wrote:


In Pathfinder, Lead and Alcohol are not considered poisons.

My last character death was due to lead poisoning. Blade to the spleen.
Swords are made of lead these days?

Lead blades!

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Miasmatic Form in Society Play All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society