
DinizViegas |
Hi. I would like to have some opinions about this topic:
The rules say that we can copy spells from another spellbook, but my question is: is you get a spellbook from another wizard (by means of stealing or buying), can't you just "attune" it to yourself?
Why would a wizard have to rewrite the whole spellbook if that spellbook is now his and he can read the language it is written on (unless, obviously, is he can't read the language, in which case he would probably be unable to copy it)... As I know, wizards can have more than one spellbook at a time. In fact, they may have MANY spellbooks at a time...
It would be great if the rules had covered this...
I was talking to my group's GM and I suggested a system where the wizard would have to do some sort of ritual to attune the spellbook to himself and then he would have to spend 1 hour studying any spell he didn't already know from his other spellbooks... Do you think this would work well?
Thanks in advance for any opinions on the subject! \o_

Tiny Coffee Golem |

Arcane Magical Writings
To record an arcane spell in written form, a character uses complex notation that describes the magical forces involved in the spell. The writer uses the same system no matter what her native language or culture. However, each character uses the system in his own way. Another person's magical writing remains incomprehensible to even the most powerful wizard until he takes time to study and decipher it.
To decipher an arcane magical writing (such as a single spell in another's spellbook or on a scroll), a character must make a Spellcraft check (DC 20 + the spell's level). If the skill check fails, the character cannot attempt to read that particular spell again until the next day. A read magic spell automatically deciphers magical writing without a skill check. If the person who created the magical writing is on hand to help the reader, success is also automatic.
Once a character deciphers a particular piece of magical writing, he does not need to decipher it again. Deciphering magical writing allows the reader to identify the spell and gives some idea of its effects (as explained in the spell description). If the magical writing is a scroll and the reader can cast arcane spells, he can attempt to use the scroll.
Wizard Spells and Borrowed Spellbooks
A wizard can use a borrowed spellbook to prepare a spell he already knows and has recorded in his own spellbook, but preparation success is not assured. First, the wizard must decipher the writing in the book (see Arcane Magical Writings, above). Once a spell from another spellcaster's book is deciphered, the reader must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell's level) to prepare the spell. If the check succeeds, the wizard can prepare the spell. He must repeat the check to prepare the spell again, no matter how many times he has prepared it before. If the check fails, he cannot try to prepare the spell from the same source again until the next day. However, as explained above, he does not need to repeat a check to decipher the writing.

DinizViegas |
You know you simply didn't answer my question, don't you?
I have asked if you (everyone) think that there should be a specific rule for that case... A change on the rules. If you don't think so, explaining your argument is way better than posting the rules for me... Believe me, I've read them before opening a topic.

![]() |

I would allow it, but because each wizard has a unique way of inscribing spells within their books, I would require the use of a skill rank in "Languages" for each spellbook captured or barrowed (except for multiple books written by the same wizard)...
That may sound extreme, but because of this paragraph:
"A wizard can use a borrowed spellbook to prepare a spell he already knows and has recorded in his own spellbook, but preparation success is not assured. First, the wizard must decipher the writing in the book (see Arcane Magical Writings, above). Once a spell from another spellcaster's book is deciphered, the reader must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell's level) to prepare the spell. If the check succeeds, the wizard can prepare the spell. He must repeat the check to prepare the spell again, no matter how many times he has prepared it before. If the check fails, he cannot try to prepare the spell from the same source again until the next day. However, as explained above, he does not need to repeat a check to decipher the writing."
(And this is just for a spell that the character ALREADY knows)
The captured/barrowed spellbook is pretty much written in a tongue that is foreign to the character...

DinizViegas |
There is a section in Complete Arcane that allows learning an entire spellbook and being able to use it as your own. There is not an option in the PHB to make a spellbook written by someone else your own.
Hey! Thank you, Howie23!
This covers the situation perfectly! I'm checking with my GM if he would accept that right now! =)Topic closed for me. \o_