
![]() |

The Core Rulebook states:
At 1st level, a bard can use his performance to cause one or more creatures to become fascinated with him. Each creature to be fascinated must be within 90 feet, able to see and hear the bard, and capable of paying attention to him. The bard must also be able to see the creatures affected. The distraction of a nearby combat or other dangers prevents the ability from working. For every three levels a bard has attained beyond 1st, he can target one additional creature with this ability.
So how many can I fascinate at first level? Seems to be a sentence missing here, or there is an error in the first sentence. I would assume only one creature at first level, however it specifically says "one or more creatures" "at 1st level". But then it doesn't tell you exactly how many creatures.

The Elusive Jackalope |

It does seem to be some awkward wording. After the comma following "at 1st level" the ability as a whole is described, with "one or more creatures" worded as such so that the ability's description remains consistant with its function as the bard rises in levels. Fascinating a single creature at 1st level would make the most sense by the way the final sentence is worded, and certainly seems to be the intent of the ability. It could be worded better, such as "a bard can fascinate one creature at 1st level. For every three levels a bard has attained beyond 1st, he can target one additional creature with this ability."

![]() |

Yeah, I finally had to go to the D&D 3.5 PHB to be sure. It states:
Fascinate (Sp): A bard with 3 or more ranks in a Perform skill can use his music or poetics to cause one or more creatures to become fascinated with him. Each creature to be fascinated must be within 90 feet, able to see and hear the bard, and able to pay attention to him. The bard must also be able to see the creature. The distraction of a nearby combat or other dangers prevents the ability from working. For every three levels a bard attains beyond 1st, he can target one additional creature with a single use of this ability (two at 4th level, three at 7th level, and so on).
That last sentence really helps to clarify it.