
Abstruse |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
So the party killed the evil troglodyte cleric. Hooray! The NE wizard in the party decided to cast Blood Transcription (and went into enough disturbing detail in how he cast it that I'm starting to worry I'm going to end up on the news saying "He seemed like such a nice, quiet guy..."). So this has left me with a problem. As written, Blood Transcription says that he is to "Select one spell available to the dead spellcaster (this must be a spell on your spell list)" Now if this were an arcane caster, no problem. Pick a spell that's on the "known" list for that character. But since he's cast this on a divine caster and cleric specifically, I'm not sure what he would get access to exactly.
A cleric's known spell list is technically "every single spell on the Cleric spell list that the cleric is capable of casting at his/her/its level, plus additional spells determined by domain choice." Is that the spell list that my wizard would have access to? Or would it solely be the spells the cleric had prepared that day? Obviously, any spell chosen would have to be both on the cleric and the wizard spell lists, but it's unclear on whether he could learn "Summon Monster II" (which the cleric could cast but did not have prepared that day) or only "Hold Person" (which is the only spell the cleric did prepare that day).

Ross Thompson |
I'm running into the same problem, and I'm inclined to take the broader view, but some official clarification would certainly be helpful.
I'm pretty sure it's limited to spells the dead caster could cast at the time he was killed. That's how I run it anyhow.
Would that mean that a wizard who casts all of his spells before dying would not be a useful target for this spell? That seems to limit its utility to sorcerers (who, so long as they die with a single high-level slot available can grant their entire known spell list) and people who are killed before they know what's happening.
And what if the target didn't immediately go from positive hit points to negative Con? That would mean that "at the time he was killed" he was unconscious and unable to cast any spells...

Cibulan |

I would interpret it to mean only spells that the target had prepared and not cast.
As another thorn in the side, blood transcription states, "During this time, you may write it down (or teach it to your familiar, if you are a witch) using the normal rules for copying a spell from another source."
There is a difference between a divine version of a spell and an arcane version. A scroll of SMII (divine) is different than a scroll of SMII (arcane). Can wizards add the divine version to their spell books? I cannot remember the answer to that questions.
Since blood transcription states that the normal rules must be followed, if wizards cannot copy divine versions of a spell (even if they share the spell list), then the discussion is moot.

Cibulan |

All spells of the same name are the same, divine and arcane have no place.
That is not true.
To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.
The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.)
The user must have the spell on her class list.
The user must have the requisite ability score.
There is a difference between an arcane and divine scrolls of commonly shared spell (like SMII). I wizard cannot use a scroll of SMII written for a cleric without a UMD check. I don't remember if there are any rules for adding a cleric scroll of a common spell to a wizard spellbook, but there is for sure a difference.
I guess it is correct to say there are no differences between the arcane and divine spell once it is cast, but there is a difference on how it gets there. Blood transcription requires you to add the spell to the spellbook as you normally would: copy a scroll or copy a spellbook. There is for sure a difference between divine and arcane scrolls, and you wouldn't let a wizard copy a spell from a cleric prayer book would you?