Elemental Gems


Rules Questions

Sczarni

According to the Core Rulebook, "When the gem is crushed, a Large elemental appears as if by the effect of Summon Nature's Ally V".

The Summon Nature's Ally spells all have a duration of one round per level. The Gem's description makes no mention of a duration, though, leading one to think that the elemental might be a permanent summons. The Gem does have a listed CL, though. Should using an elemental gem use the spell's listed duration at the gem's CL, or some other duration? Or be permanent?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It should use the gem's caster level to determine the duration in rounds.


Silent Saturn wrote:

According to the Core Rulebook, "When the gem is crushed, a Large elemental appears as if by the effect of Summon Nature's Ally V".

The Summon Nature's Ally spells all have a duration of one round per level. The Gem's description makes no mention of a duration, though, leading one to think that the elemental might be a permanent summons. The Gem does have a listed CL, though. Should using an elemental gem use the spell's listed duration at the gem's CL, or some other duration? Or be permanent?

If the item says that it works like a spell x then it works like a spell x using caster level given in it's description. Having permanent duration would be deviation from the way the spell works and would be noted as such.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Elemental Gems All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions