Awareness of charm spells


Rules Questions


We had a bit of a situation last session regarding charm spells.

Our GM rules the following:

A character who is charmed will not be aware of the fact that the character is affected by a charm spell (or even a spell at all). This makes sense until we get to the situation of having other characters aware of this fact.

A character affected by a charm spell will be hostile to the idea of having dispel magic cast against them even if made aware of the fact that a spell is affecting them which they do not know what it does.

Common sense says that a character affected by a magic spell of any kind which they did not cast upon themselves would prefer to have that spell removed, unless they know for a fact that the spell is not harmful.

Last session we had a situation where half the party was charmed and we had to employ subterfuge to get the spells removed because the characters were hostile to having them removed.

So my question is, using this premise:

My character is under protection from evil, and the spell duration will expire in a few minutes. Previously I was affected by charm person while under the effect of protection from evil but as the protection will expire soon I will soon fall under the effect of charm person.

I want to cast dispel magic on myself such that I can guarantee that the charm spell disappears, but I can only guarantee that if I let the protection from evil spell disappear, and when it disappears I am bound by gm ruling to refuse the removal of the charm spell.

I need to find a way to prevent the charm person from stopping me from removing it and I would prefer not having to rely on the rest of the party.

Silver Crusade

Targeted dispel magic can work on the specific spell you choose:

Dispel Magic wrote:
You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way. If your caster level check is equal to or higher than the DC of that spell, it ends. No other spells or effects on the target are dispelled if your check is not high enough to end the targeted effect.

PRD link

Silver Crusade

Oh, or are you saying that the effects of the charm spell are suspended for the duration of the protection from evil, and so it is not available for dispel magic? That's a tougher ruling.


Oh right! You're actually correct!

I assume that since I know I am affected by Charm Person but the spell itself has not yet kicked in, I dispel it by targeting it specifically.

That's great. I didn't actually read dispel magic closely enough to realize you could target a specific spell.

Silver Crusade

Yay!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Awareness of charm spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.