| Fox1212 |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Hi.
I have several doubts about the Icy Prison Spell.
Could you explain these points a bit, please? It looks like a very useful spell, but the wording is a bit confusing.
1.- In the text there's a "Fortitude negates (see text)" saving throw. However, I cannot find the text referring to the save. What is it?
2.- If a creature is trapped and helpless, can it try to free itself with a Strength check?
3.- How long does this check take? A standard, a full round?
4.- If the creature is entangled, what must it do to rid itself of the ice and the condition? The same as if it was helpless? If it does not rid itself of the ice, does it really keep receiving damage each round for the duration of the spell?
5.- Does the spell resistance apply to the trapping effect, or only to the damage?
Thanks in advance for your help.
| Are |
1. I have no idea what the Fortitude save is for.
2. IMO, you can only free yourself if you're entangled.
3. A standard action.
4. It must break the ice (or someone on the outside can break the ice for it by dealing enough damage to the ice). Once the ice is broken, the character is free.
5. Both; either the spell works, leading to trapping and subsequent damage, or the spell fails and nothing happens.
| IkeDoe |
IMHO:
1- Subject of Errata. It should prolly be a save against the Cold damage, or maybe there shouldn't be a Fortitude save.
2- Don't know, the helpless condition doesn't prevent you from doing some actions (i.e. Scape Artist while bound), but should be clarified in the text.
3- The rules for breakin doors and the like say that Str checks replace attacks (?? I'm not sure, the wording is a bit weird, and doesn't say it explicitly).
4- I don't know if you can break the ice that entangles you. But if you don't get rid of it you sure keep suffering 1/level damage point per round for 1 minute/level (so, a 10th level caster would deal, over 10 minutes, a grand total of 1000 damage which you prolly can't heal with a few potions and wands). You should be able to break the ice dealing 3 points/level damage to the ice, imo.
5- Good question, Evocation spells don't usually create an object, and SR doesn't apply against solid objects, however I'm not sure how this spell works. Unless errated it says SR: Yes.
One user posted the Missing Saving Throw text problem in the Errata Trhead, click FAQ in his post please:
Post in Ultimate Magic Errata
Also, please repost the questions in the Ultimate Magic Errata Thread once we have check it hasn't been already errated.
Ultimate Magic Errata Thread
Edit: Not answered in the Ultimate Magic FAQ, also a quick search in the boards didn't provided any useful info.
| Fox1212 |
One user posted the Missing Saving Throw text problem in the Errata Trhead, click FAQ in his post please:
Post in Ultimate Magic ErrataAlso, please repost the questions in the Ultimate Magic Errata Thread once we have check it hasn't been already errated.
Ultimate Magic Errata ThreadEdit: Not answered in the Ultimate Magic FAQ, also a quick search in the boards didn't provided any useful info.
So, do we post this in the Ultimate Magic Errata Thread? Is there a chance of a developer answering here?
I think I'll re-post this in the Errata Thread.