
![]() ![]() ![]() |

Hi all, I spent yesterday evening making a new alchemist gnome character for my weekly Monday night PFS game. With my first character hitting 4th level and some n00bs still occasionally joining the group, I wanted a new 1st level character in case we run the 1-2 tier for a scenario. I'm very excited to see that alchemist can use craft(alchemy) now in PFS. The character will be sort of a jack of all trades, but his primary offensive option will involve splash weapons and bombs. So I was hoping to get some clarifications on the rules.
Since time is not a measurable commodity in PFS, it would seem to me that the alchemist could make as many alchemist's fires, acids, etc. as his little gnomish heart desires. Is this correct?
Also can I "take ten" on these rolls? I would assume so by the core rules which gives me a result of 20 so I should be able to make anything up to that difficulty without a roll.
If I try something more difficult and fail, what are the consequences? Normally a failure of 4 or less just results in no progress on the crafting for that week, however in PFS that has no bearing. Can I simply try again, or do I need to move on without that product until I complete another scenario. A failure of 5 or more costs some resources, but I would think I could just mark that off and try again.
Not sure there's been any sort of official ruling on this, unless my search-fu has failed me. I know this isn't clarified directly in the FAQs.
Any insight that people can provide would be much appreciated.

![]() |
To my understanding craft is used for money in pathfinder society. I believe you'd have to simply buy what you wanted from the money you gain for crafting rather than actually crafting anything yourself.
I'm still a newb to PFS myself, so don't take this as the word of law if someone more experienced says otherwise.

Fozzy Hammer |

Hi all, I spent yesterday evening making a new alchemist gnome character for my weekly Monday night PFS game. With my first character hitting 4th level and some n00bs still occasionally joining the group, I wanted a new 1st level character in case we run the 1-2 tier for a scenario. I'm very excited to see that alchemist can use craft(alchemy) now in PFS. The character will be sort of a jack of all trades, but his primary offensive option will involve splash weapons and bombs. So I was hoping to get some clarifications on the rules.
Since time is not a measurable commodity in PFS, it would seem to me that the alchemist could make as many alchemist's fires, acids, etc. as his little gnomish heart desires. Is this correct?
Also can I "take ten" on these rolls? I would assume so by the core rules which gives me a result of 20 so I should be able to make anything up to that difficulty without a roll.
If I try something more difficult and fail, what are the consequences? Normally a failure of 4 or less just results in no progress on the crafting for that week, however in PFS that has no bearing. Can I simply try again, or do I need to move on without that product until I complete another scenario. A failure of 5 or more costs some resources, but I would think I could just mark that off and try again.
Not sure there's been any sort of official ruling on this, unless my search-fu has failed me. I know this isn't clarified directly in the FAQs.
Any insight that people can provide would be much appreciated.
How can alchemists craft in Pathfinder Society Organized Play?
Alchemists can use the Craft (alchemy) skill to produce items with their Alchemy ability. Follow the Craft rules on pages 91–93 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook as well as in the alchemist’s Alchemy ability description. Any item created must be properly noted on that scenario’s Chronicle sheet. Under "Items Bought", note the amount of gold spent and the item created.
Alchemists are assumed, for Pathfinder Society Organized Play, to carry the necessary items and tools with them to use available resources to create alchemical items. If they have a base of operations from which to do so, they may use an alchemy lab to gain the +2 bonus on their Craft (alchemy) check.
Alchemists may never sell any of their created items nor may they trade them to another PC. However, they may allow other PCs to borrow or use items they’ve created (so long as the alchemist class ability being used allows them to do so).
—Mark Moreland, 08/15/11
There is currently no limit on how much out-of-game time an alchemist may spend crafting.
If you fail, you may try again. It's in the Core Rules. Use them as your "bible".
Have your GM note the items that you have crafted, especially any that you can't make with a "Take 10"
Taking 10: When your character is not in immediate danger or distracted, you may choose to take 10. Instead of rolling 1d20 for the skill check, calculate your result as if you had rolled a 10. For many routine tasks, taking 10 makes them automatically successful. Distractions or threats (such as combat) make it impossible for a character to take 10. In most cases, taking 10 is purely a safety measure—you know (or expect) that an average roll will succeed but fear that a poor roll might fail, so you elect to settle for the average roll (a 10). Taking 10 is especially useful in situations where a particularly high roll wouldn't help.
Yes, you may take 10.
If you fail a check by 4 or less, you make no progress this week. If you fail by 5 or more, you ruin half the raw materials and have to pay half the original raw material cost again.
If you fail by less than 5, just try again. Do it in front of a GM.