
tom jim |
Disclaimer: I understand the prices on the "Estimating Magic Item Gold Piece Values" Table are guidelines and that the DM should and does have the final say on if an item can be created and what its price will be.
Assumptions: The questions are pertaining to the rules and pricing guidelines as written. To simplify, assume that all magic items take up a body slot, have only one ability, and are not using spells that have costly material components.
Question 1:
Question 1a: Does the unmodified Command Word magic item whose base cost is given by (Spell level x caster level x 1,800 gp) have unlimited uses?
Question 1b: If the answer to 1a is yes, is the above price the base price modified by the "Charged (50 charges)" and the "Charges per day" special price modifiers?
Question 2:
Question 2a: When making a magic item from a spell with a duration of instantaneous, does the item have to be Command Word activated, not Use Activated/Continuous?
Question 2b: When making a magic item from a spell with a duration of concentration, does the item have to be Command Word activated, not Use Activated/Continuous?
Hypotheses:
1a: Yes
1b: Yes
2a: Yes
2b: Yes
Examples:
If the answers to 1a and 2a are yes, it would be possible to create a Command Word activated slot magic item (e.g. a hat) that lets the user cast Cure Light Wounds, with a caster level of one, an unlimited amount of times as long as she has standard actions to spare. This item would have a base price of 1*1*1,800 = 1,800 gold.
Question 2b is trickier. I see it functioning as the object casting the spell and then transferring the concentration to the user. For example, the Hand of the Mage item lets the wearer use Mage Hand at will. The item is priced as if it were (assuming the answer to 1a is yes) an unlimited use Command Word activated item. CL 1 * SL (1/2) * 1800 = 900 gold, the price of Hand of the Mage.

Some call me Tim |

Question 1:
Question 1a: Does the unmodified Command Word magic item whose base cost is given by (Spell level x caster level x 1,800 gp) have unlimited uses?
No. It has 5 charges. In other words it hasn't been modified by the charges per day adjustment. See the example, cape of the mountebank. (4 x 7 x 18000 = 50400 / (1/5) = 10080)
Examples:
If the answers to 1a and 2a are yes, it would be possible to create a Command Word activated slot magic item (e.g. a hat) that lets the user cast Cure Light Wounds, with a caster level of one, an unlimited amount of times as long as she has standard actions to spare. This item would have a base price of 1*1*1,800 = 1,800 gold.
Price for 5 times a day would be 1800.

Skylancer4 |

Disclaimer: I understand the prices on the "Estimating Magic Item Gold Piece Values" Table are guidelines and that the DM should and does have the final say on if an item can be created and what its price will be.
Assumptions: The questions are pertaining to the rules and pricing guidelines as written. To simplify, assume that all magic items take up a body slot, have only one ability, and are not using spells that have costly material components.
Question 1:
Question 1a: Does the unmodified Command Word magic item whose base cost is given by (Spell level x caster level x 1,800 gp) have unlimited uses?Question 1b: If the answer to 1a is yes, is the above price the base price modified by the "Charged (50 charges)" and the "Charges per day" special price modifiers?
Question 2:
Question 2a: When making a magic item from a spell with a duration of instantaneous, does the item have to be Command Word activated, not Use Activated/Continuous?Question 2b: When making a magic item from a spell with a duration of concentration, does the item have to be Command Word activated, not Use Activated/Continuous?
Hypotheses:
1a: Yes
1b: Yes
2a: Yes
2b: YesExamples:
If the answers to 1a and 2a are yes, it would be possible to create a Command Word activated slot magic item (e.g. a hat) that lets the user cast Cure Light Wounds, with a caster level of one, an unlimited amount of times as long as she has standard actions to spare. This item would have a base price of 1*1*1,800 = 1,800 gold.Question 2b is trickier. I see it functioning as the object casting the spell and then transferring the concentration to the user. For example, the Hand of the Mage item lets the wearer use Mage Hand at will. The item is priced as if it were (assuming the answer to 1a is...
1a&1b) I'm going to politely and firmly disagree with Tim, not all command word items require charges, that is part of the cost included and is a decision made when creating the item (to lower the cost typically), so he is wrong on 1a unless specifically creating a wand (spell trigger item which always has 50 charges). Beyond that, items need to be priced in comparison to others that they are like. This means consideration needs to be made when things like unlimited healing (which definitely affects game play), so 1800gp is a starting place but extremely cheap for what it does. A command word item that does Cure Light Wounds would allow non spell casters to heal (needs consideration and a price bump) an unlimited amount of times (needs consideration and another price bump). An item that already exists (wand of Cure Light Wounds) costs as much as the guidelines say this new item does (and the new item is significantly better). As such the item in question needs to have its price increased, probably signifcantly.
2a&2b) Hand of the Mage has far fewer ways to possibly break the game with all of its limitations so the guidelines are appropriate here. That doesn't mean the unlimited healing item above is validated for the price, just that this item has a much less far reaching impact on the game (except for some corner cases intelligent players may come up with).

Some call me Tim |

Question 2:
Question 2a: When making a magic item from a spell with a duration of instantaneous, does the item have to be Command Word activated, not Use Activated/Continuous?Question 2b: When making a magic item from a spell with a duration of concentration, does the item have to be Command Word activated, not Use Activated/Continuous?
There is not an absolute requirement that instantaneous or concentration duration spells have to be command word activated. It's the nature of the item, not the spell that determines how it is activated.
The most obvious example is potion of cure light wounds, it is a use-activated magic item made from an instantaneous duration spell.

William Simpson |

Okay, I am a little confused about the Magic Item Gold Piece Value chart in the Pathfinder SRD.
For Command Word Items, the formula is Spell Level X Caster Level X 1800 to find the base cost. I am assuming cost to make.
The example they give is for a Cape of the Mountebank (used ONE time per day).
Caster Level is 7 (they have 9th). Dimension Door is a 4th level Spell. So, 7 X 4 X 1800 = 50400 (which is 10 X the base amount listed!)
Should the formula not be Spell Level X Caster Level X 180? Am I missing something?
I am trying to figure out the value of an item that is not portable, but casts a Divination Spell Once per day. It will also some other minor powers. (mostly help with Knowledge checks)
Thanks for any help.

Davick |

Okay, I am a little confused about the Magic Item Gold Piece Value chart in the Pathfinder SRD.
For Command Word Items, the formula is Spell Level X Caster Level X 1800 to find the base cost. I am assuming cost to make.
The example they give is for a Cape of the Mountebank (used ONE time per day).
Caster Level is 7 (they have 9th). Dimension Door is a 4th level Spell. So, 7 X 4 X 1800 = 50400 (which is 10 X the base amount listed!)
Should the formula not be Spell Level X Caster Level X 180? Am I missing something?
I am trying to figure out the value of an item that is not portable, but casts a Divination Spell Once per day. It will also some other minor powers. (mostly help with Knowledge checks)
Thanks for any help.
1. You seem to be looking at the craft price, not the cost.
2. The formula is for a 5 charge item, since the cape is once per day, you must divide it by 5. WHich makes it come out to exactly the right price.
EDIT: Anyway, if you want an item with unlimited use, use the "USe activated or Continuous" section, and remember to account for the duration of the spell modifier.

William Simpson |

1. You seem to be looking at the craft price, not the cost.2. The formula is for a 5 charge item, since the cape is once per day, you must divide it by 5. WHich makes it come out to exactly the right price.
EDIT: Anyway, if you want an item with unlimited use, use the "USe activated or Continuous" section, and remember to account for the duration of the spell modifier.
Where does the 5 charge item come from? I could not find it anywhere.
{EDIT} Ooops. Senior Gamer moment. It's Right below that.