Damage Reduction Question


Rules Questions


Lets say I have a creature with DR10/Bludgeoning.

Will a +1 Magic Sword ignore that? Or, because the sword is slashing, and not bludgeoning, will the DR still take effect? What if it was +2?

The SRD seems kinda wishy washy about this so I want to try to make sure I am clear, cause its been a WHILE.


No, you need an actual bludgeoning weapon to ignore DR/bludgeoning.

Magic weapons with a +3 or higher enhancement bonus can ignore certain types of DR, as follows:

+3: can ignore DR/cold iron and DR/silver
+4: can ignore DR/adamantine
+5: can ignore DR/<alignment>

DR/bludgeoning, DR/slashing, and DR/piercing can only be ignored by weapons with the relevant damage type.


Bludgeoning, Piercing, and slashing are the three types of DR that currently don't have a readily available bypass method. Some individual means exist to bypass them (paladin smite evil for example) but a weapon won't bypass them simply from being magical (in the sense of enhancement bonuses bypassing things.


Abraham spalding wrote:
Bludgeoning, Piercing, and slashing are the three types of DR that currently don't have a readily available bypass method. Some individual means exist to bypass them (paladin smite evil for example) but a weapon won't bypass them simply from being magical (in the sense of enhancement bonuses bypassing things.

Notably, these are also the three types of DR which continue operating in an antimagic field. All other types of DR are Supernatural, which means they get suppressed.


Bobson wrote:
Notably, these are also the three types of DR which continue operating in an antimagic field. All other types of DR are Supernatural, which means they get suppressed.

Curious -- do you have some quotes to back that claim up?

Liberty's Edge

Abraham spalding wrote:
Bobson wrote:
Notably, these are also the three types of DR which continue operating in an antimagic field. All other types of DR are Supernatural, which means they get suppressed.
Curious -- do you have some quotes to back that claim up?

Usual Disclaimer about 3.5 D&D FAQ not being meaningful for all readers. The topic of what DR is Ex and what is Su is addressed in the final D&D 3.5 FAQ, pp. 77-8. Per that document, it's extraordinary unless DR/magic DR/(any alignment), or DR/(a quality that would require the weapon be magical). Stretching the 3.5 FAQ to cover this in PF runs into the fact that PF changed the way DR can be overcome; Edit: since the text covering the topic has changed, it can't be seen as having considered the new text. In 3.5, DR/(special material) is (Ex). In PF, were you applying the 3.5 FAQ ruling, it gets very grey, since overcoming DR/(special material) is conditional on the quantitative measure of "how magical."

Personally, I think that PF's change in DR should have instead been made by changing the DR of the creature, not grant magic the ability to overcome the DR. For example, DR/silver should have been changed to DR/silver or magic +3. I suspect that the design decision viewed these as equivalent ways of handling it, tho.


Howie23 wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Bobson wrote:
Notably, these are also the three types of DR which continue operating in an antimagic field. All other types of DR are Supernatural, which means they get suppressed.
Curious -- do you have some quotes to back that claim up?
Usual Disclaimer about 3.5 D&D FAQ not being meaningful for all readers. The topic of what DR is Ex and what is Su is addressed in the final D&D 3.5 FAQ, pp. 77-8. Per that document, it's extraordinary unless DR/magic DR/(any alignment), or DR/(a quality that would require the weapon be magical). Stretching the 3.5 FAQ to cover this in PF runs into the fact that PF changed the way DR can be overcome; Edit: since the text covering the topic has changed, it can't be seen as having considered the new text. In 3.5, DR/(special material) is (Ex). In PF, were you applying the 3.5 FAQ ruling, it gets very grey, since overcoming DR/(special material) is conditional on the quantitative measure of "how magical."

Good point - I'd forgotten that it was a carryover from 3.5. Still, there's no Pathfinder rules about what DR is Ex and what's Sp in general, despite both being possible.

To make things more confusing, I'll point out that the Jaberwock's DR/vorpal is expressly Ex. Which then raises the question of whether a vorpal weapon in an antimagic field would bypass or not.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Damage Reduction Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions