| Rinny |
You can animate a nonliving rope-like object. The maximum length assumes a rope with a 1-inch diameter. Reduce the maximum length by 50% for every additional inch of thickness, and increase it by 50% for each reduction of the rope's diameter by half.
The possible commands are "coil" (form a neat, coiled stack), "coil and knot," "loop," "loop and knot," "tie and knot," and the opposites of all of the above ("uncoil," and so forth). You can give one command each round as a move action, as if directing an active spell.
The rope can enwrap only a creature or an object within 1 foot of it - it does not snake outward - so it must be thrown near the intended target. Doing so requires a successful ranged touch attack roll (range increment 10 feet). A typical 1-inch-diameter hemp rope has 2 hit points, AC 10, and requires a DC 23 Strength check to burst it. The rope does not deal damage, but it can be used as a trip line or to cause a single opponent that fails a Reflex saving throw to become entangled. A creature capable of spellcasting that is bound by this spell must make a concentration check with a DC of 15 + the spell's level to cast a spell. An entangled creature can slip free with a DC 20 Escape Artist check.
Ok so here's the deal. I want to entangle a b@+%% from an inert rope as a standard action. What say you? Do I get a 'free go' of the effect at the initial casting like concentration spells and charge spells? Conceptually I can see it both ways. For me wording leans towards 'lame' :( but I want to see what you think.
Also it's not a rope it's a ninja wire :D
| HaraldKlak |
Ok so here's the deal. I want to entangle a b~@%* from an inert rope as a standard action. What say you? Do I get a 'free go' of the effect at the initial casting like concentration spells and charge spells? Conceptually I can see it both ways. For me wording leans towards 'lame' :( but I want to see what you think.Also it's not a rope it's a ninja wire :D
No, I can't see why you should get a free use, when casting the spell. The spell itself just animates the robe, directing the robe requires a move action.
But you can use a move action on the turn you cast the spell to direct it, so in effect you can use it just as you cast it, albeit by stopping yourself from moving more than 5 ft that round.| Rinny |
Rinny wrote:No, I can't see why you should get a free use, when casting the spell. The spell itself just animates the robe, directing the robe requires a move action.
Ok so here's the deal. I want to entangle a b~@%* from an inert rope as a standard action. What say you? Do I get a 'free go' of the effect at the initial casting like concentration spells and charge spells? Conceptually I can see it both ways. For me wording leans towards 'lame' :( but I want to see what you think.Also it's not a rope it's a ninja wire :D
Becaaaaause! :C there's vague precedence and it's conceivable andand
But you can use a move action on the turn you cast the spell to direct it, so in effect you can use it just as you cast it, albeit by stopping yourself from moving more than 5 ft that round.
BUT IMA HAVE TO TOSS IT TOO OR SOMETHING!
Unless I set up an elaborate trap; but I'd rather be able to drop it then use a move action then ready an actionn~~~
:C
And I'll only have 2 caster levels :( 2 rounds
Ah well I guess it's a house-ruling thing if anything at all.