Lingering Performance and "Finale" Spells


Rules Questions


Heroic Finale wrote:

School enchantment (compulsion)[mind-affecting]; Level bard 4

Casting Time 1 standard action
You must have a bardic performance in effect to cast this spell. With a flourish, you immediately end the performance, and one creature within range affected by your bardic performance can make a move action or a standard action of their choice.
Lingering Performance wrote:
The bonuses and penalties from your bardic performance continue for 2 rounds after you cease performing. Any other requirement, such as range or specific conditions, must still be met for the effect to continue. If you begin a new bardic performance during this time, the effects of the previous performance immediately cease.

1. Does Lingering Performance still function if you cast a "Finale" spell? Or does the spell's effects cancel the performance's effects?

2. Can you cast the "Finale" spells during the 2 rounds after you end a bardic performance, if you have the Lingering Performance Feat?

3. On the round in which you are casting the "Finale" spell, do you need to use a free action to maintain the bardic performance (essentially reducing the number of rounds remaining for the day), or can you cast the spell at the beginning of your turn, without losing a round of perform?


I'd like to add one question.

4. Does Lingering Performance help with the level 12 Bard ability (Soothing Performance) that requires 4 rounds to gain effect?
Example: Perform for 2 round and then Lingering Performance fills in the other 2 rounds.

Dark Archive

1) Yes, lingering performance allows the normal effects to linger as per the feat description beyond the use of a finale.

2) No, you must cast the spell WHILE you are performing, and not during the lingering effects.

3) You spend the round or performance at the beginning of your turn if you want to maintain it, at least that is how RAI seems to imply. Refer to my second answer, if you do not spend the free action (Basically no action) to continue your performance you will be performing for the round, if you do not then you are not performing and cannot benefit from casting your finale spell as you would not currently be performing.

4) No, the lingering effects are simply that, they do not count as actual rounds of performance for any effect other than the one that has been currently been triggered.


I agree with C.D.M. - I just want to clarify the reasoning for how I got there:

1) Yes, because "you immediately end the performance" and then the effects "continue for 2 rounds after you cease performing". The finale spells just require you to stop your bardsong as part of casting it - they don't reach out and quash any ongoing effects. So anything that happens when you stop casting it is as normal.

2) No, because only "the bonuses and penalties from your bardic performance continue" - you don't actually have a bardsong going, just the bonuses and penalties from one.

3) Yes, because you have to be singing at the time you cast the spell, which is during your turn. So you need to have spent a round's worth of song for that round. Once you're able to start as a move action, you can start a song and then immediately finale it, but it still costs one round of song. Once you can do it as a swift action, you can start a song as a swift, finale it as a standard, then start another as a move (this is not spending a move action to do a swift action, this is using the ability granted at level 7 instead of that granted at level 13).

4) No, because of the same reason as #2. You're not actually performing for the extra two rounds, you just maintain any existing bonuses or penalties.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lingering Performance and "Finale" Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions