Why does Spark have a saving throw?


Rules Questions


Just trying to understand how Spark works.

It allows a player to light an unattended fine object on fire, but a saving throw negates it. Unattended non-magical objects don't get a saving throw, and attended objects can't be targeted by the spell.

So then is the saving throw just for unattended fine magic objects?

Also, what qualifies as unattended?

I'm considering allowing my players some latitude for this spell, I'm just wondering what the risks would be. Being able to light someone's pipe from 25 feet away doesn't seem like something that would be overpowered. Being able to light their cloak on fire however, does.

I'm thinking of allowing it to light attend objects on fire, but with a perception check to resist the spell, as target notices the sparks and is able to move the object before it bursts into flame.

Any memorable spark stories, while we're at it?

Grand Lodge

TheeGravedigger wrote:

Just trying to understand how Spark works.

It allows a player to light an unattended fine object on fire, but a saving throw negates it. Unattended non-magical objects don't get a saving throw, and attended objects can't be targeted by the spell.

So then is the saving throw just for unattended fine magic objects?

Also, what qualifies as unattended?

It's for those times when someone decides to cast Spark on magic scroll. Unattended means that the object is not in someone's physical posession and not protected by another object i.e. said scroll lying bare on a table.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Why does Spark have a saving throw? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.