Targeting of Spells


Rules Questions


Please help me settle a dispute with one of the people I play with. If a spell does not specify that it is a Ray or that it requires an attack roll then it automatically strikes then intended target. Whether or not the spell effects the target is usually determined by a saving throw.

As an example:

I want to cast Enlarge Person on an enemy. I say that the spell "hits" the enemy and if he wants to try and resist he takes his Saving Throw.

My friend says that I must first roll a ranged touch attack and then if it hits or misses we see if the target takes their saving throw.

Can someone please help us settle this tiresome argument?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
DEFCON.Clown wrote:

Please help me settle a dispute with one of the people I play with. If a spell does not specify that it is a Ray or that it requires an attack roll then it automatically strikes then intended target. Whether or not the spell effects the target is usually determined by a saving throw.

As an example:

I want to cast Enlarge Person on an enemy. I say that the spell "hits" the enemy and if he wants to try and resist he takes his Saving Throw.

My friend says that I must first roll a ranged touch attack and then if it hits or misses we see if the target takes their saving throw.

Can someone please help us settle this tiresome argument?

The vast majority of spells with target lines do NOT need attack rolls unless they specifically say they do. Please note that ray spells ALWAYS require attack rolls.

Your friend is incorrect. Target spells are often determined by saves and spell resistance alone.


As Ravingdork had indicated, your friend is incorrect.

Just because the spell is a 'target' spell, does not automatically force you to make a 'roll to hit'. You will only need to roll to hit if the spell indicates as such.


Thank you both. I'll be glad to stop having this argument each time we play.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Targeting of Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.