Scroll Creation: Duplicating Scrolls?


Rules Questions


Hi there!

All this crafting talk got me thinking...

Can a character that is not a Wizard, let's say a Sorcerer with the Scribe Scroll feat, copy a scroll onto a blank parchment and create a new scroll of that spell?

Let's assume they don't know the spell to be copied for this example.

I can't seem to find anything in the rules directly relating to this situation, just about copying from a scroll to a spellbook...

Sub Question:

Can this sorcerer have their own spellbook filled with spells and spells they don't know? (I'm assuming yes) Can they then use that as a template to create scrolls?


It is impossible to create a scroll from another scroll. Scrolls store the energy of a spell that has been cast. If you use a scroll to create another scroll, the first scroll will have been used up in the making of the second scroll.

The sorcerer actually gains no benefit from having a spellbook filled with spells they don't know. They can't prepare spells from it or use the spells it contains to craft items.

Rules: Creating Scrolls: "The creator must have prepared the spell to be scribed (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material component or focus the spell requires. A material component is consumed when she begins writing, but a focus is not. (A focus used in scribing a scroll can be reused.) The act of writing triggers the prepared spell, making it unavailable for casting until the character has rested and regained spells. (That is, that spell slot is expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if it had been cast.)"


Scrolls are (the) spell completion item. Spell completion items cannot have their prerequisites skipped by adding 5 to the dc. The prerequisite for the scroll is the spell you're putting on it.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
Scrolls are (the) spell completion item. Spell completion items cannot have their prerequisites skipped by adding 5 to the dc. The prerequisite for the scroll is the spell you're putting on it.

Ah... well I was assuming if you can read magic and read the scroll you should be able to copy it (theoretically). But, that is not in the game rules I see.

Thanks for your input!


Stynkk wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Scrolls are (the) spell completion item. Spell completion items cannot have their prerequisites skipped by adding 5 to the dc. The prerequisite for the scroll is the spell you're putting on it.

Ah... well I was assuming if you can read magic and read the scroll you should be able to copy it (theoretically). But, that is not in the game rules I see.

Thanks for your input!

It helps to think of what is actually on the scroll. A scroll contains the full power of a spell but is short enough to be able to read, speak, and cast in the normal casting time. The scroll's word aren't the actual spell; they are a trigger for the spell. If you could use the scroll to copy a spell (as from a spellbook), then you would probably need to spend a few minutes to be able to read everything off the scroll to cast it.


Traken wrote:
It helps to think of what is actually on the scroll. A scroll contains the full power of a spell but is short enough to be able to read, speak, and cast in the normal casting time. The scroll's word aren't the actual spell; they are a trigger for the spell. If you could use the scroll to copy a spell (as from a spellbook), then you would probably need to spend a few minutes to be able to read everything off the scroll to cast it.

Yes. Now I think of a scroll as a temporary housing for the spell energy with some kind of command word(s) to unleash it.

That kind of distinction really goes a long way.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Scroll Creation: Duplicating Scrolls? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.