Mounted charges and Spring Attack (on mount)


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Is it possible for my cavalier with Ride-by attack and a riding dog with Spring attack to utilize both on one attack, i.e. the cavalier makes a charge attack with ride-by attack, while the dog moves, bites and continues moving?

My gut reaction is no, since combining spring attack and charges is normally not allowed.

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

By the rules, no. But I would allow it.

In my games I allow a player to move, attack, and move again without a feat. He draws an attack of opportunity from the target and can not exceed his base move. Just seems silly to move 10 ft and attack, then end your turn with 20 ft of movement left. Leads to more realistic combat with the inclusion of more action.

Liberty's Edge

Bruno Kristensen wrote:

Is it possible for my cavalier with Ride-by attack and a riding dog with Spring attack to utilize both on one attack, i.e. the cavalier makes a charge attack with ride-by attack, while the dog moves, bites and continues moving?

My gut reaction is no, since combining spring attack and charges is normally not allowed.

I would say no. The mount is moving, not the PC.

Spring Attack (Combat)

Benefit: As a full-round action, you can move up to your speed and make a single melee attack without provoking any attacks of opportunity from the target of your attack. You can move both before and after the attack, but you must move at least 10 feet before the attack and the total distance that you move cannot be greater than your speed. You cannot use this ability to attack a foe that is adjacent to you at the start of your turn.

You are not using any of your movement during a ride by attack, you are only using the mounts movement. Not to mention the charge action is a full round action itself

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

1 person marked this as a favorite.

As I read it, he does not mean the character is making both the Spring Attack and Ride By Attack. I think he meant his character has Ride By Attack and his mount, the riding dog, has Spring Attack. So when his character is making the Ride By Attack, he wants his mount to get an attack as well using Spring Attack.

Dark Archive

Thomas LeBlanc wrote:
As I read it, he does not mean the character is making both the Spring Attack and Ride By Attack. I think he meant his character has Ride By Attack and his mount, the riding dog, has Spring Attack. So when his character is making the Ride By Attack, he wants his mount to get an attack as well using Spring Attack.

Exactly!

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Thomas LeBlanc wrote:
By the rules, no.

I was wrong.

Ride By Attack wrote:
Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action, you may move and attack as if with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge). Your total movement for the round can't exceed double your mounted speed. You and your mount do not provoke an attack of opportunity from the opponent that you attack.
Spring Attack wrote:
Benefit: As a full-round action, you can move up to your speed and make a single melee attack without provoking any attacks of opportunity from the target of your attack. You can move both before and after the attack, but you must move at least 10 feet before the attack and the total distance that you move cannot be greater than your speed. You cannot use this ability to attack a foe that is adjacent to you at the start of your turn.

By the rules nothing says the mount can not get the Spring Attack, but there is a limit. The mount must charge 10 ft (which qualifies for the Ride By Attack for the character and the Spring Attack for the mount), make the attack, and continues the straight line without exceeding the mounts movement speed. No rule has been broken. You would not be able to move the double move allowed by the Ride By Attack though.

Liberty's Edge

Thomas LeBlanc wrote:
Thomas LeBlanc wrote:
By the rules, no.

I was wrong.

Ride By Attack wrote:
Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action, you may move and attack as if with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge). Your total movement for the round can't exceed double your mounted speed. You and your mount do not provoke an attack of opportunity from the opponent that you attack.
Spring Attack wrote:
Benefit: As a full-round action, you can move up to your speed and make a single melee attack without provoking any attacks of opportunity from the target of your attack. You can move both before and after the attack, but you must move at least 10 feet before the attack and the total distance that you move cannot be greater than your speed. You cannot use this ability to attack a foe that is adjacent to you at the start of your turn.
By the rules nothing says the mount can not get the Spring Attack, but there is a limit. The mount must charge 10 ft (which qualifies for the Ride By Attack for the character and the Spring Attack for the mount), make the attack, and continues the straight line without exceeding the mounts movement speed. No rule has been broken. You would not be able to move the double move allowed by the Ride By Attack though.

Ninja'ed. Sean K addressed this in another thread and gave the same answer.

Dark Archive

Thanks, I'm trying to decide what feats to get for my halfling cavalier's mount, and it was either this (if legal) or load up on Fleet for the greater movement speed.


By raw... probably not but its not exactly prohibited either. Since this is a combination that SHOULD be allowed, I'm going to try to justify it by the raw.

There's nothing in the rules that specifically say you can't charge while on a mount.

Common sense says you can't, but then again common sense should say that if you can hit the badguy and move, and your dog can hit the badguy and move,then both you and your dog can hit the bad guy and move.

The only thing it calls you out as not being able to do as your mount moves is to make a full attack. Thus you can conceivably cast a full round spell, charge, spring attack, or perform any full round action you want except a full attack.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
There's nothing in the rules that specifically say you can't charge while on a mount.

Well, they also require you to charge while mounted to use the feat ride-by attack.

Ride-By Attack wrote:
Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action


Tarantula wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
There's nothing in the rules that specifically say you can't charge while on a mount.

Well, they also require you to charge while mounted to use the feat ride-by attack.

Ride-By Attack wrote:
Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action

Right. And YOU are charging (which is technically rules legal) And you are mounted. Your mount is not charging. Your mount is taking a full round action to spring attack. Rules lawyering cheese? Absolutely. But so is the idea that you and your mount can't hit and move together after an investment of 6 feats to do so.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
Tarantula wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
There's nothing in the rules that specifically say you can't charge while on a mount.

Well, they also require you to charge while mounted to use the feat ride-by attack.

Ride-By Attack wrote:
Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action
Right. And YOU are charging (which is technically rules legal) And you are mounted. Your mount is not charging. Your mount is taking a full round action to spring attack. Rules lawyering cheese? Absolutely. But so is the idea that you and your mount can't hit and move together after an investment of 6 feats to do so.

So, from the prd, "If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)."

Does this mean my mount can take a full-round charge action (giving me both the benefits and the drawbacks) and I can use a standard action to vital strike?

Alternately, if I have to use a full-round charge action to get the double lance damage, can my mount use its standard/move actions as normal (as long as the movement path is valid for my charge path)?


Quote:
Does this mean my mount can take a full-round charge action (giving me both the benefits and the drawbacks) and I can use a standard action to vital strike?

By raw i would say yes.

By the "absolutely nothing goes with charge or vital strike" banhammer i would say no.

Quote:
Alternately, if I have to use a full-round charge action to get the double lance damage, can my mount use its standard/move actions as normal (as long as the movement path is valid for my charge path)?

Technically yes. I'm not sure what else the mount WOULD be doing but not charging.

As i said, this is rules lawyering cheese. I wouldn't do it if I didn't think a technicality wasn't preventing spirited charge and spring attack from working together.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounted charges and Spring Attack (on mount) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.