Natural Attacks


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

New guy question: if an animal can deliver a bite and two claws when in combat, can it make all three attacks (bite, claw, claw - three separate rolls) in one round?

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Perelay wrote:
New guy question: if an animal can deliver a bite and two claws when in combat, can it make all three attacks (bite, claw, claw - three separate rolls) in one round?

Yes, but only if it can use a Full Attack action.


Also see the Pounce special ability, which allows a full attack while charging. It is very bad when an angry tiger charges you.


speaking of natural attacks, one of the players in my game asked if his natural attacks gave him improved unarmed strike...I said no, but I want to check and make sure


marthaurion wrote:
speaking of natural attacks, one of the players in my game asked if his natural attacks gave him improved unarmed strike...I said no, but I want to check and make sure

Natural attacks do not grant improved unarmed strike but natural attacks do count as being armed.

If a character with a bit decides to punch, they still provoke AoO unless they take IUS.


He wanted to know in the context of getting Improved Grapple


marthaurion wrote:
He wanted to know in the context of getting Improved Grapple

No they are not equal for that purpose.


So, to clarify, if an eagle, for example, flies down (move action) and attacks (standard action), which one of it's attacks should it use? One claw, two claws, or it's bite? I understand pounce, and using a full attack action, it's the move and single natural attack that is vague.


Greetings, fellow travellers.

In the case described, I would let the eagle attack with his bite - but it doesn't really matter since all attacks (in this case) are considered primary attacks.
Meaning: you can choose whatever primary attack seems most appropriate in a given situation when only using a standard action for an attack action.

Ruyan.

Liberty's Edge

HorusHanabi wrote:
So, to clarify, if an eagle, for example, flies down (move action) and attacks (standard action), which one of it's attacks should it use? One claw, two claws, or it's bite? I understand pounce, and using a full attack action, it's the move and single natural attack that is vague.

The general rule is that to use more than one attack, the creature must use a full round action. If using a standard action, he gets only one attack after moving. Since he moved, he gets only one attack; that means 1 claw or 1 bite.

Liberty's Edge

I pretty sure that an Eagle cannot take a Full Attack action since it has to move on it's turn or else it will plummet and fall prone.

I am fairly certain that the Eagle gets it's 2/claw attacks and upon successful hits then can use it's beak attack.

It works in the similar fashion as would a Wolf with it's trip attack. Atleast this is how it was explained to me in PFS Rules.


Well, 3 out the five guys in the gaming group with this question are now present and accounted for.... Hello to you guys.


Quote:
what moonklaw wrote

... only that pretty sure is still wrong as per RAW.

Your description might be true for a flying or swooping eagle, but if he has locked his claw(s) in an opponent and goes for full attack next round he can use all three attacks as any other monster/PC/NPC who does not need to move.

All natural attacks described in the bestiary entry are primary attacks - so there is nothing like you describe.

The example with the wolf is completely different, since here a (successful) attack is then used to apply a combat manouver where the bite is needed to get a hold on the opponent to then trip him.

Ruyan.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Moonklaw wrote:

I pretty sure that an Eagle cannot take a Full Attack action since it has to move on it's turn or else it will plummet and fall prone.

I am fairly certain that the Eagle gets it's 2/claw attacks and upon successful hits then can use it's beak attack.

It works in the similar fashion as would a Wolf with it's trip attack. Atleast this is how it was explained to me in PFS Rules.

I'm not sure what you mean by "PFS Rules." PFS follows the core rules.

Clarifying my own and other posts, here, eagles have talon attacks, not claw attacks; talons do slashing, while claws do bludgeon and slashing.

An eagle has 3 attacks. Two of them are talons, one is a bite. It does not have a single attack that is both talons; rather each talon is a separate attack.

The general rule, once again, is that to make more than one attack, the creature must use a full attack action. To attack with two talons is two attacks; it requires a full attack to use both attacks.

An eagle can hover in place by making a skill check, Fly DC15, which would allow it to take all 3 attacks as a full round action.

Liberty's Edge

Howie23 wrote:


I'm not sure what you mean by "PFS Rules." PFS follows the core rules.

Clarifying my own and other posts, here, eagles have talon attacks, not claw attacks; talons do slashing, while claws do bludgeon and slashing.

An eagle has 3 attacks. Two of them are talons, one is a bite. It does not have a single attack that is both talons; rather each talon is a separate attack.

The general rule, once again, is that to make more than one attack, the creature must use a full attack action. To attack with two talons is two attacks; it requires a full attack to use both attacks.

An eagle can hover in place by making a skill check, Fly DC15, which would allow it to take all 3 attacks as a full round action.

okay okay.....makes sense, You are probably right according to the rules, I guess this is where my suspension of disbelief needs to be turned on.

Because honestly when an Eagle makes an attack it uses both talons at the same time, 99% of the time. I honestly cannot picture an Eagle hovering in front of someone or something to make 2 talon attacks and a beak attack, that's not how they do it in the wild.........call me crazy.

Liberty's Edge

Moonklaw wrote:
Because honestly when an Eagle makes an attack it uses both talons at the same time, 99% of the time. I honestly cannot picture an Eagle hovering in front of someone or something to make 2 talon attacks and a beak attack, that's not how they do it in the wild.........call me crazy.

I hear you. Everything I've ever heard or seen regarding raptor attacks is that the attack is a plumetting dive, hitting with both talons. The bite isn't used at all, unless to kill a still living victim.

Were I to want to reflect this, I would model the creature differently. Instead, this group of rules has been used to model the creature, and this is how this group of rules plays out.


Well, it would be using flyby attack, but by the game mechanics it doesn't have the feats to pull it off.


Make it an animal companion and it will have!
Good catch on the skill check, Howie23!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Natural Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions