Damage Type Bite B / S / P all of them or one?


Rules Questions


Damage Type: Bite B/S/P all of them or one? This comes up a lot in the games I play or run dose a bite have a 3 B/S/P or dose the gm have to pick one?

Exp (A)
Wolf bite (P) +2 (1d6+1 plus grab (S)) i know they dont have grap only using for a exp
Spider, Giant Melee bite (P) +2 (1d6 plus poison)
A horse if it bite you (B) I know it don’t have a bite only say

Or this it like this

Exp (B)
Wolf bite (B/S/P) +2 (1d6+1 plus qrab (B/S/P))i know they dont have grap only using for a exp
Spider, Giant bite (B/S/P) +2 (1d6 plus poison)
A horse if it bite you (B/S/P) I know it don’t have a bite only say

clear this up plz. one gm i play with and me thinks it should Exp(A)


I believe it's whichever is most advantageous with regards to bite. For example, if the target has 5/slashing, then the bite is slashing. If the target has 5/bludgeoning, then it's bludgeoning.

I've been doing it that way and had no issues with it.


The damage type only matters for purposes of overcoming DR of it you use the crit cards.
To answer the question: All the damage types apply.

In any case the damage is only taken once. You don't take 3d6 if that is the core of your question.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

yes a cant see spider doing (B) when they have fangs and a horse doing (P) when there teeth are flat eating grass

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

From the beaststrike club:

bite (piercing), claw (slashing), gore (piercing), slam (bludgeoning), sting (piercing), or talon (slashing)


Thomas LeBlanc wrote:

From the beaststrike club:

bite (piercing), claw (slashing), gore (piercing), slam (bludgeoning), sting (piercing), or talon (slashing)

i like this but claw can do (slashing),(piercing). slashing if you cross the chest. if piercing you put in someone stomach. that what i been useing (if they have the int to do the piercing one)


This is from the weapons section of the SRD:

Quote:

Weapons are classified according to the type of damage they deal: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing. Some monsters may be resistant or immune to attacks from certain types of weapons.

Some weapons deal damage of multiple types. If a weapon causes two types of damage, the type it deals is not half one type and half another; all damage caused is of both types. Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon.

In other cases, a weapon can deal either of two types of damage. In a situation where the damage type is significant, the wielder can choose which type of damage to deal with such a weapon.

The natural attacks section list what types of damage various attack forms do. Bite does all three B,P, and S. All damage caused is of all three types (see above)


Natural Attack Damage Type Table:

Table

It also specifically states under the table:

"The Damage Type column refers to the sort of damage that the natural attack typically deals: bludgeoning (B), slashing (S), or piercing (P). Some attacks deal damage of more than one type, depending on the creature. In such cases all the damage is considered to be of all listed types for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction."


Kor is correct; it's all three. This is almost exclusively an advantage. There are a very few creatures which have defenses that react to being damaged by piercing/bludgeoning/slashing weapons (usually involving releasing toxins of some sort, such as blood sprays or clouds of disease).


Kor - Orc Scrollkeeper wrote:

Natural Attack Damage Type Table:

Table

It also specifically states under the table:

"The Damage Type column refers to the sort of damage that the natural attack typically deals: bludgeoning (B), slashing (S), or piercing (P). Some attacks deal damage of more than one type, depending on the creature. In such cases all the damage is considered to be of all listed types for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction."

i stall cant see a bite doing all 3 types

chaoskin wrote:
a cant see spider doing (B) when they have fangs and a horse doing (P) when there teeth are flat eating grass

mmmm

Grand Lodge

chaoskin wrote:
Kor - Orc Scrollkeeper wrote:

Natural Attack Damage Type Table:

Table

It also specifically states under the table:

"The Damage Type column refers to the sort of damage that the natural attack typically deals: bludgeoning (B), slashing (S), or piercing (P). Some attacks deal damage of more than one type, depending on the creature. In such cases all the damage is considered to be of all listed types for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction."

i stall cant see a bite doing all 3 types

chaoskin wrote:
a cant see spider doing (B) when they have fangs and a horse doing (P) when there teeth are flat eating grass

I've seen several creature designs that have something like a "Blunt Teeth" special quality, making their bite do only bludgeoning damage. A different creature might have "Needle Teeth" that do only piercing. Other posters have given the default rule though.

Sovereign Court

Actually its very easy to see a bite from almost any creature doing all three types of damage. Your spider example for instance, the Fangs are most definitely piercing you when you get bit. The force needed to penetrate armor would definitely cause contusions and if you save vs the initial poison attack the GM could easily say the attack failed to break through your armor but you felt the force of the blow. Finally once bitten the spiders fangs aren't likely to slide nicely out of the wound unless you're dead or paralyzed so they probably rip out of your skin causing a laceration and thus slashing damage.

Look at a Crocodile as the perfect example. Conical teeth pierce flesh for grip, crushing jaw strength batters and holds prey, and shaking the head or using a death roll tears the flesh with a slashing motion.

--I'm not a Vrocktor, but I play one on TV...


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

There is a different context in which this comes up: underwater combat.

The rules say that a Bite (for instance) is B, P -and- S. B and S take penalties, P doesn't. So does the bite attack underwater take the penalty?


Tarondor wrote:

There is a different context in which this comes up: underwater combat.

The rules say that a Bite (for instance) is B, P -and- S. B and S take penalties, P doesn't. So does the bite attack underwater take the penalty?

A little bit of common sense goes a long way. Pretty much every single underwater animal/monster in existence has a bite for its primary (and frequently only) attack.

Shadow Lodge Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8

Don't those penalties only apply to land based creatures anyway?

I mean, I can see a wolf having trouble biting someone under water, but applying the same penalty to a shark seems pretty ridiculous.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Piercing: the front canines.
Bludgeoning: the back teeth that they use to crack open bones
Slashing: from shaking the first two back and forth once they get a hold.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Damage Type Bite B / S / P all of them or one? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.