Spell Trigger / Command Word items and casting times


Rules Questions


I've been reading that it takes a standard action to activate a Spell Trigger or Command Word item. However, is this affected by the casting time of the spell that is being used?

For example, say that I have a Spell Trigger item that can cast Summon Eidolon (1 round cast). Does it still only take a standard action to trigger the spell, or does it take 1 round?

What if I'm using an item to cast a quickened spell? Does it take a swift action to activate the item, or a standard action?

I'm asking this mostly for item creation purposes; I haven't been able to find any existing wondrous items or staves in the game that use spells without a casting time of a standard action.


Matrixryu wrote:

I've been reading that it takes a standard action to activate a Spell Trigger or Command Word item. However, is this affected by the casting time of the spell that is being used?

For example, say that I have a Spell Trigger item that can cast Summon Eidolon (1 round cast). Does it still only take a standard action to trigger the spell, or does it take 1 round?

What if I'm using an item to cast a quickened spell? Does it take a swift action to activate the item, or a standard action?

I'm asking this mostly for item creation purposes; I haven't been able to find any existing wondrous items or staves in the game that use spells without a casting time of a standard action.

Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

Command Words are also standard actions. Only Spell completion items depends on spell casting time.


concerro wrote:
Command Words are also standard actions. Only Spell completion items depends on spell casting time.

Yea, that's what the rules seemed to say.... it just seems a little crazy to me. For example, I could make a Spell Trigger item for Transmogrify (an hour long cast) which lets me cast the spell as a standard action. I'm surprised that there's nothing in the item creation guide for dealing with those sorts of spells.


Matrixryu wrote:
concerro wrote:
Command Words are also standard actions. Only Spell completion items depends on spell casting time.
Yea, that's what the rules seemed to say.... it just seems a little crazy to me. For example, I could make a Spell Trigger item for Transmogrify (an hour long cast) which lets me cast the spell as a standard action. I'm surprised that there's nothing in the item creation guide for dealing with those sorts of spells.

The item creation rules are guidelines more than anything else. If you think something is over or underpriced compare it to another item that you think is equal to it.

Command word=Spell level x caster level x 1,800 gp.

Due to the hour casting time I would not allow it as a command word item if I were the DM, or if I did I would still enforce the 1 hour time for the changes.

Making a true strike(spell) sword is not that expensive either, but that is another item I would not hold my breath waiting for.

Silver Crusade

concerro wrote:

Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

Command Words are also standard actions. Only Spell completion items depends on spell casting time.

That's what one rule says. Another says: "Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand.)"

These two statements are contradictory. Spell trigger == std action; Wand == spell trigger; wand == standard action unless the spell is longer than a standard action. WTF? It takes a full round to say a command word?

Is there any errata fixing this contradiction?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Trigger / Command Word items and casting times All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.