Rogue Ability : Fast Getaway


Rules Questions


My understanding of the core rules is that if you make a standard attack action, you can use your move action after your attack.

So where does Fast Getaway come in? The description is "After successfully making a sneak attack or Sleight of Hand check, a rogue with this talent can spend a move action to take the withdraw action. She can move no more than her speed during this movement."

How is this any different than the normal rules? Or does that mean you can take a move action even after a full attack?

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
PRD wrote:

Withdrawing from melee combat is a full-round action. When you withdraw, you can move up to double your speed. The square you start out in is not considered threatened by any opponent you can see, and therefore visible enemies do not get attacks of opportunity against you when you move from that square. Invisible enemies still get attacks of opportunity against you, and you can't withdraw from combat if you're blinded. You can't take a 5-foot step during the same round in which you withdraw.

If, during the process of withdrawing, you move out of a threatened square (other than the one you started in), enemies get attacks of opportunity as normal.

You may not withdraw using a form of movement for which you don't have a listed speed.

Note that despite the name of this action, you don't actually have to leave combat entirely.

It let's you use the withdraw action as a move, and you get that lovely bonus of no AoO from visible enemies.


Well, withdraw lets you move double your speed. Fast Getaway doesn't.

So it seems the only additional thing you get is that you won't get attacks of opportunity against you in the square you are leaving?

It seems nearly the same as spring attack, except you could use it against someone you're next to at the start of your turn, and you can't move before attacking.


It means the square you start in isn't considered threatened, so you can attack and withdraw without drawing an attack of opportunity (if your foe doesn't have reach) Normally withdraw is a full round action, so once you attack, you can't do it, you have to move away and draw the aoo.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rogue Ability : Fast Getaway All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.