Wizard: 2 Questions (Magic Weapon + Magic Weapons, Wands + TWF)


Rules Questions


Hi there,

A pair of Queries:

Does the spell Magic Weapon work on Magic Weapons? It says it does not stack with Masterwork Bonuses but it doesn't say it doesn't stack with bonuses from a weapon that is a Magic Weapon.

Secondly, can a Wizard use 2 wands at once if he has the Two Weapon Fighting Feat?

Thanks in advance,

HH

Grand Lodge

Hockey_Hippie wrote:

Hi there,

A pair of Queries:

Does the spell Magic Weapon work on Magic Weapons? It says it does not stack with Masterwork Bonuses but it doesn't say it doesn't stack with bonuses from a weapon that is a Magic Weapon.

Secondly, can a Wizard use 2 wands at once if he has the Two Weapon Fighting Feat?

Thanks in advance,

HH

Technically the spell works, but the bonuses don't stack. Only the higher bonus will function.

And no. Using a wand is a standard action not an attack action.. Two-weapon fighting is a full-attack action. and only applies to melee attacks.

Grand Lodge

Hockey_Hippie wrote:

Hi there,

A pair of Queries:

Does the spell Magic Weapon work on Magic Weapons? It says it does not stack with Masterwork Bonuses but it doesn't say it doesn't stack with bonuses from a weapon that is a Magic Weapon.

Secondly, can a Wizard use 2 wands at once if he has the Two Weapon Fighting Feat?

Thanks in advance,

HH

Same bonuses never stack. Magic Weapon gives an enhancement bonus which is the same type of bonus that Magic Weapons have. The bonuses would overlap with the higher one taking effect.

Wands require at least a standard action to activate, not an attack action, there for you cannot full attack with wands.


Thanks guys

HH

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Although a wizard could hold a wand in each hand and use a different one each round without having to spend actions to switch.

Hockey_Hippie wrote:

Hi there,

A pair of Queries:

Does the spell Magic Weapon work on Magic Weapons? It says it does not stack with Masterwork Bonuses but it doesn't say it doesn't stack with bonuses from a weapon that is a Magic Weapon.

Secondly, can a Wizard use 2 wands at once if he has the Two Weapon Fighting Feat?

Thanks in advance,

HH

Liberty's Edge

Both replies are absolutely correct. However, there is one thing I'd like to add on the Magic Weapon + Magic Weapon question.

The bonuses to not stack, as they are both enhancement bonuses. However, if one has a +1 flaming burst longsword, and one casts Greater Magic Weapon to grant a +3 enhancement bonus, one now has a +3 flaming burst longsword (for the duration of the spell, anyway).

In other words, enhancement bonuses don't stack with each other, but weapon properties that are priced as enhancement bonuses can stack with effects that grant an enhancement bonus.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Hockey_Hippie wrote:
... can a Wizard use 2 wands at once if he has the Two Weapon Fighting Feat?

If your DM allows 3.5 material, there is a feat that can be used for that. It's in Complete Arcane.

Found at WotC Website

Complete Arcane wrote:

Double Wand Wielder

You can activate two wands at the same time.

Prerequisites: Craft Wand, Two-Weapon Fighting.

Benefit: As a full-round action, you can wield a wand in each hand (if you have both hands free), with one wand designated as your primary wand and the other your secondary wand. Each use of the secondary wand expends 2 charges from it instead of 1.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
LazarX wrote:
And no. Using a wand is a standard action not an attack action.. Two-weapon fighting is a full-attack action. and only applies to melee attacks.

Unless the character is using the wands as improvised batons to club his opponents... ;-)


delabarre wrote:
LazarX wrote:
And no. Using a wand is a standard action not an attack action.. Two-weapon fighting is a full-attack action. and only applies to melee attacks.
Unless the character is using the wands as improvised batons to club his opponents... ;-)

Don't forget the two-weapon fighting penalties then. I'd say they're light weapons;) Oh, and improvised weapons too, more penalties. What's your BAB again;p

The Exchange

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Lathiira wrote:
Don't forget the two-weapon fighting penalties then. I'd say they're light weapons;) Oh, and improvised weapons too, more penalties. What's your BAB again;p

Are they Finesse weapons? ;-)


Re: Wands.
I wonder if it would work if they were using wands of quickened ray of frost. Mind you rather a pricey way to get 2 1d3 attacks a round.

Or maybe 1 quickened frost wand and one standard wand? Or one standard wand with the quickened frost spell layered onto the same stick?

~will


So if a 16th level party had a fighter with a +1 vorpal sword , could the party wizard cast magic weapon on it to make it a +4 vorpal sword (with the +4 superseding the +1 but leaving the vorpal in place)

The Exchange

BigNorseWolf wrote:
So if a 16th level party had a fighter with a +1 vorpal sword , could the party wizard cast magic weapon on it to make it a +3 vorpal sword (with the +3 superseding the +1 but leaving the vorpal in place)

well, a 16th level wizard would be granting it a +4 bonus, not a +3, but otherwise you got it right. One quick comment though: the +4 won't count for bypassing DR other than magic.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
BigNorseWolf wrote:
So if a 16th level party had a fighter with a +1 vorpal sword , could the party wizard cast magic weapon on it to make it a +3 vorpal sword (with the +3 superseding the +1 but leaving the vorpal in place)

If a 16th level wizard cast greater magic weapon on a +1 vorpal blade it would be a +4 vorpal blade for the duration of the spell effect.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wizard: 2 Questions (Magic Weapon + Magic Weapons, Wands + TWF) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.