Druids and the Depths


Rules Questions


So i notice the realist trend keep creeping in again with now requiring players not only worry about breathing underwater and movement underwater. Now also having to worry about cold underwater and pressure underwater.

So my question is:
When druids wildshape into: Squid, Octopus, or Orca. Do they also gain the ability to survive in these environments the same as the creature they wildshape into ??

What about Druids in Water Elemental form: Does water pressure or cold water effect them?

I do not see anywhere listed in Spell's or p 211 Transmutation listing for Polymorph that you assume the creature type, only its form. So does the form grant to you allow you to survive in the environment that said creatures came from?


When you wild shape into a creature that has a swim speed, you gain the ability to breathe underwater.

Rules quote found under the polymorph subsection of the transmutation spell type:

"If the form grants a swim or burrow speed, you maintain the ability to breathe if you are swimming or burrowing."


Sorry... Question was about underwater Pressure and Cold.


I have not seen reference to anything suggesting they do or don't, but then, I don't remember seeing a reference in the description for whale or octopus to anything specifically stating it either. Without any rules one way or another for the base creature, I would suggest anyone shapechanging/polymorphing can survive in any environment the base creature can.


Sorry, I misunderstood.. Anyway; pretty much all of the types have some species that live underwater, so it has to be the form of the specific creature that allows it to survive there, rather than the specific type that creature has. Since you gain the form, that should be sufficient to survive the pressure, at least.

Liberty's Edge

"I turn into a vampire squid and hide at about 2500 feet down."
"You are eaten by a Grue."

Dark Archive

StabbittyDoom wrote:

"I turn into a vampire squid and hide at about 2500 feet down."

"You are eaten by a Grue."

/golfclap

Next time bring a flashlight!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Druids and the Depths All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions