
Kryptik |

Our group is getting ready to defend a halfling jungle village against a lich and his army of zombies. With that in mind, I am trying to create a corridor of death that is hella hard to get through.
The plan is to cast Spike Growth and Entangle upon a reasonably narrow corridor. Here's my question...
Does the halving of speed from being Entangled stack with the halving from having your feet torn up from Spike Growth?
If so, how does the math work out for someone who is Entangled, Spike Growth'd, and moving through the Difficult terrain created by Entangle?
In other words, we have a zombie with a 30' speed who shuffles into the target area, fails his reflex save to avoid being entangled (for the sake of the argument), and with the -2 from being Entangled fails his save to avoid the Spike growth. He is now suffering from two halvings of his speed, and each square counts as 2 for movement.
So is that 30'->15'->10'? 5'? If it's 5', does he still get to move the 5' through Difficult Terrain, or is he effectively stopped? If it's 10', he really only moves 5' anyway.
I would appreciate any clarification on this that I can get. Thanks!

Ravingdork |

Our group is getting ready to defend a halfling jungle village against a lich and his army of zombies. With that in mind, I am trying to create a corridor of death that is hella hard to get through.
The plan is to cast Spike Growth and Entangle upon a reasonably narrow corridor. Here's my question...
Does the halving of speed from being Entangled stack with the halving from having your feet torn up from Spike Growth?
If so, how does the math work out for someone who is Entangled, Spike Growth'd, and moving through the Difficult terrain created by Entangle?
In other words, we have a zombie with a 30' speed who shuffles into the target area, fails his reflex save to avoid being entangled (for the sake of the argument), and with the -2 from being Entangled fails his save to avoid the Spike growth. He is now suffering from two halvings of his speed, and each square counts as 2 for movement.
So is that 30'->15'->10'? 5'? If it's 5', does he still get to move the 5' through Difficult Terrain, or is he effectively stopped? If it's 10', he really only moves 5' anyway.
I would appreciate any clarification on this that I can get. Thanks!
Movement speed would be halved for one spell, then halved again for the other (round down).
So someone with thirty-foot speed would be halved to fifteen would be halved to seven and a half. That would round down to five feet per move action. Someone with forty-foot speed would be able to move ten feet with a single move action.
Note that no matter how slow someone becomes form stacked movement penalties, they can always move at least five feet as a full round action.
In some situations, your movement may be so hampered that you don't have sufficient speed even to move 5 feet (a single square). In such a case, you may spend a full-round action to move 5 feet (1 square) in any direction, even diagonally. Even though this looks like a 5-foot step, it's not, and thus it provokes attacks of opportunity normally.
The zombie in your example, on the other hand, would most likely be stopped dead in its tracks since he failed his save against the entanglement effect (and plants tend to be rooted to something immobile).

Kryptik |

Thanks Ravingdork! That is good news indeed.
The only downside is that the wording of the Entangle spell only says that it would have the entangled effect, it does not say that it would be immobile. Something to the effect of pushing your way through a thicket that is tugging at you as you move along. Who knows, maybe my GM will see it your way. I hope so, as that would be epic. Just like shooting fish in a barrel.

Kryptik |

Make sure to put some plants in the area where you plan to cast entangle.
It's in the middle of the jungle, I don't think I'll have any problems there.
Technically, I wouldn't really need them because the GM has allowed the spell to work in areas without vegetation, because he rules that they're magical.
Though it would be funny to plant a beautiful array of garden plants in anticipation of our rotting guests.

Stubs McKenzie |
emphasis = mine
Entangled: The character is ensnared. Being entangled impedes movement, but does not entirely prevent it unless the bonds are anchored to an immobile object or tethered by an opposing force . An entangled creature moves at half speed, cannot run or charge, and takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and a –4 penalty to Dexterity. An entangled character who attempts to cast a spell must make a concentration check (DC 15 + spell level) or lose the spell.
As far as the spell entangle, because the plants are immobile objects/an opposing force, they would be bound in place unlike a Rope of Entanglement which would just give entangled condition with all normal modifiers listed, as there is no anchor point associated.

Kryptik |

emphasis = mine
core wrote:Entangled: The character is ensnared. Being entangled impedes movement, but does not entirely prevent it unless the bonds are anchored to an immobile object or tethered by an opposing force . An entangled creature moves at half speed, cannot run or charge, and takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and a –4 penalty to Dexterity. An entangled character who attempts to cast a spell must make a concentration check (DC 15 + spell level) or lose the spell.As far as the spell entangle, because the plants are immobile objects/an opposing force, they would be bound in place unlike a Rope of Entanglement which would just give entangled condition with all normal modifiers listed, as there is no anchor point associated.
Sweetness. Even better.