
Malarious |

OK I am rather new to Pathfinder, and even D&D for that matter and I have never been in a class that could summon anything. So I had a couple questions for anyone who is up to answering something that probably seems pretty basic.
Summoning is its own action, but do you need to use an action to order the summon from them on or is speaking "free" and the monster is considered to be taking its own actions?
How many monsters can you have present at any given time? Can I keep using summon monster repeatedly or can I only have as many out as 1 spell use allows at a time?
Think those are all right now, but I cant seem to find things in a rule book anywhere.
Thanks!

![]() |

Summoning is its own action, but do you need to use an action to order the summon from them on or is speaking "free" and the monster is considered to be taking its own actions?
The creature will attack your enemies on its own, without direction from you. While it isn't specified in the rules, every GM I've seen allows the player to move the creature on the board and declare the creature's attacks just as they would do for their own character.
If the summoner is able to communicate with the creature (they share a language, telepathy, etc.) he can command the creature to do other things. Again the rules don't specify, though this could be considered redirecting a spell, which is a move action. I do believe the prevailing opinion is that since summoned creatures obey commands, it doesn't require any more effort than speaking (a free action).
How many monsters can you have present at any given time? Can I keep using summon monster repeatedly or can I only have as many out as 1 spell use allows at a time?
There is no limit to the number of creatures you can summon/command in relation to the summon monster or summon nature's ally spells (assuming that commanding is indeed a free action at your table).

KaeYoss |

Summoning is its own action, but do you need to use an action to order the summon from them on or is speaking "free" and the monster is considered to be taking its own actions?
It is its own creature and has its own actions.
As Malarious said, usually the summoning caster gets to control the critters he summoned - though the player should be reasonable: A wolf, for example, is not a master tactician and should not behave like one.
Anyway, these critters are summoned by you and they obey your every command.
Command as in "they do what you say." And speaking (if it's within reason) is a free action. You should be limited to short commands like "attack this one" or "defend me", because a lot of GMs will not let you issue commands like "Listen: We flank that sucker, and as soon as we have him where we want him, you try to drag him off his feet so I can kick him when he's down." as a free action.
And remember that you need to be able to communicate with the creature to give it commands. Pointing at something and making aggressive noises will work with stupid creatures like animals, but to give more sophisticated commands, you better know how to handle animals, or have a smart critter.
How many monsters can you have present at any given time?
Unless the spell description or something in your class says otherwise, you can knock yourself out. If you have enough spells and the duration is long enough, you can summon armies (usually not for long, though).

james maissen |
OK I am rather new to Pathfinder, and even D&D for that matter and I have never been in a class that could summon anything.
Some advice for you:
Get index cards made up with the stats of anything that you would possibly decide to summon.
Nothing slows down a game like you would if you decide 'hmm this sounds nice I'll summon it' and have to look up the stats then make any adjustments for templates, augment summoning and the like.
Do the bookkeeping work ahead of time.
Summoned creatures will move to the closest enemy and attack them unless directed otherwise. As the other posters have said the action is generally free but you don't get the time to discuss much during 6 seconds.
Once summoned the creatures will act like their own individual self. They act right before your turn as well as on the turn that they appear.
If they have an ability like 'smite evil' they will likely use it on their first target, again unless directed otherwise.
If you wind up having a good number of critters on the board at once then I suggest that you do one of two things (if not both):
1. Pre-roll some attacks for those critters that are fairly 'locked' into combat. If they or their target dies beforehand so be it. Talk with your DM about this and what they feel comfortable with doing. It can speed things up.
2. Delegate some of the critters to another player. If another player's turns are much shorter than yours and they are willing, let them do some of the dice rolling and the like for you. Keeps more people involved and is less intensive for you.
In general work with your group, and ask how they think that you could be doing things better.
General advice like plan out your turn before it comes up (adjusted for anything strange of course) so that it can go a bit more swiftly is always good advice.
-James