
Tangible Delusions |

First question came up at the end of the Runelords AP
Can you cast dominate an already dominated monster and how does that work.
Second Question is from character creation:
Sawtooth Sabre "A proficient user can treat a sawtooth sabre as a light weapon; otherwise, treat it as a longsword."
So does that mean that without the exotic weapon feat it is a martial weapon and there would be no penalties to wielding it as a fighter without the exotic feat?
Third Question
If you have a slashing weapon in one hand and a bludgeoning weapon in the other, when you move and get one attack, can you choose to attack with either hand after you move and not have off-hand penalties?

FarmerBob |

First question came up at the end of the Runelords AP
Can you cast dominate an already dominated monster and how does that work.
That's a bit unclear. It looks like it is possible to have multiple dominations be active at once. I'd probably have the last command issued be the one the monster tries to follow, and give the creature a new save at +2 whenever the opposing caster tries to change the order to something incompatible. Eventually one of the dominations will be resisted and control will end.
Second Question is from character creation:
Sawtooth Sabre "A proficient user can treat a sawtooth sabre as a light weapon; otherwise, treat it as a longsword."
So does that mean that without the exotic weapon feat it is a martial weapon and there would be no penalties to wielding it as a fighter without the exotic feat?
Yes.
Third Question
If you have a slashing weapon in one hand and a bludgeoning weapon in the other, when you move and get one attack, can you choose to attack with either hand after you move and not have off-hand penalties?
Yes.

Caineach |

1. I don't know how I would adjucate it. Maybe have them sit in a stupor as the magic fights eachother. GM call really, as the rules have issues handling lots of corner cases
2. Works like a Bastard Sword, only it is even better. Any longsword proficiencies or bonuses (weapon focus/spec) you have affect it, regardless of how you are wielding it. If you are profficient in longswords, you can use it as a 1 handed weapon without penalties. If you take EWP, you get the added bonus of being able to use it as a light weapon, which is only really useful for two weapon fighters.
3. There are no longer any off hand penalties unless you are using a full round action to get multiple attacks while two weapon fighting. You can switch at will between any weapons you are using, unless you want extra attacks.

![]() |

First question came up at the end of the Runelords AP
Can you cast dominate an already dominated monster and how does that work.
Yes. Both dominators give commands. If they conflict, there's a Charisma check to determine the winner.
Second Question is from character creation:Sawtooth Sabre "A proficient user can treat a sawtooth sabre as a light weapon; otherwise, treat it as a longsword."
So does that mean that without the exotic weapon feat it is a martial weapon and there would be no penalties to wielding it as a fighter without the exotic feat?
Yes. It's like a Bastard Sword. You can use it as a martial weapon, but you can use it in a special way as an Exotic weapon.
Third QuestionIf you have a slashing weapon in one hand and a bludgeoning weapon in the other, when you move and get one attack, can you choose to attack with either hand after you move and not have off-hand penalties?
Yes. You only get off-hand penalties when you're attacking with both weapons in the same round.

DeathQuaker RPG Superstar 2015 Top 8 |

I'll probably end up being Ninja'ed on this but here we go:
First question came up at the end of the Runelords AP
Can you cast dominate an already dominated monster and how does that work.
I assume what you are asking is what happens if the SAME CASTER recasts dominate person on the same target before the duration ends?
I would say that the target gets a saving throw as normal, and you have to beat SR as normal. With a successful casting, the duration of the spell "increases" -- so if the spell was going to expire in a day, a new casting would make it expire in a number of days equal to caster level as usual.
Nothing else would change--it's not like you're going to be able to make more/better commands.
If your second casting failed, the 1st spell would just expire at its normal time as usual.
If you're trying to dominate a creature someone ELSE has dominated, I would say the the creature would try to carry out both commands? Alternatively, you could 1st see if the creature fails his save as normal, and if so, do opposing caster level checks versus the other dominating spellcaster to see whose "dominate" wins out, especially if commands would be contrary.
Second Question is from character creation:Sawtooth Sabre "A proficient user can treat a sawtooth sabre as a light weapon; otherwise, treat it as a longsword."
So does that mean that without the exotic weapon feat it is a martial weapon and there would be no penalties to wielding it as a fighter without the exotic feat?
Yes--to someone with only martial weapon proficiency, they would use a sawtooth sabre exactly as they would a longsword.
Third Question
If you have a slashing weapon in one hand and a bludgeoning weapon in the other, when you move and get one attack, can you choose to attack with either hand after you move and not have off-hand penalties?
Yes, unless you have a very persnickety GM. I can say that at least every time I've played a TWF character, the character took penalties when making a full attack with both weapons and did not take penalties when attacking with one of the weapons (damage type is irrelevant) as a standard action. It doesn't matter which hand the weapon is in.

concerro |

I thought I saw something somewhere that said the 2nd dominate spell - in effect - drives out the first. It even seems like the already dominated creature is easier to dominate - -2 to it's saving throw. I admit that could go back to 3.5 though, it's been a while since I read that.
Nope. It is an opposed charisma check.
PRD:
Multiple Mental Control Effects: Sometimes magical effects that establish mental control render each other irrelevant, such as spells that remove the subject's ability to act. Mental controls that don't remove the recipient's ability to act usually do not interfere with each other. If a creature is under the mental control of two or more creatures, it tends to obey each to the best of its ability, and to the extent of the control each effect allows. If the controlled creature receives conflicting orders simultaneously, the competing controllers must make opposed Charisma checks to determine which one the creature obeys.

Abraham spalding |

First question came up at the end of the Runelords AP
Can you cast dominate an already dominated monster and how does that work.
Second Question is from character creation:
Sawtooth Sabre "A proficient user can treat a sawtooth sabre as a light weapon; otherwise, treat it as a longsword."
So does that mean that without the exotic weapon feat it is a martial weapon and there would be no penalties to wielding it as a fighter without the exotic feat?
Third Question
If you have a slashing weapon in one hand and a bludgeoning weapon in the other, when you move and get one attack, can you choose to attack with either hand after you move and not have off-hand penalties?
Question one:
Multiple Mental Control Effects: Sometimes magical effects that establish mental control render each other irrelevant, such as spells that remove the subject's ability to act. Mental controls that don't remove the recipient's ability to act usually do not interfere with each other. If a creature is under the mental control of two or more creatures, it tends to obey each to the best of its ability, and to the extent of the control each effect allows. If the controlled creature receives conflicting orders simultaneously, the competing controllers must make opposed Charisma checks to determine which one the creature obeys.
Question two: Yes, but only has a one handed weapon -- if he tries to use it as a light weapon he takes the non-proficiency penalty.
Question three: Yes. Only when actually attacking with both weapons do you take the penalties.

Tanis |

Question two: Yes, but only has a one handed weapon -- if he tries to use it as a light weapon he takes the non-proficiency penalty.
Are you sure about this? I'm pretty sure you cannot use it as a light weapon without proficiency.
Going by what you're saying you take the -4 penalty to attack with (presumably) your off-hand, but the -6 penalty to your primary hand becomes -4 (and with the non-proficiency penalty becomes -8) and your off-hand penalty of -10 goes to -8.
Is there a reference for this? Besides the RAW of it, why would anyone do this?

Abraham spalding |

Abraham spalding wrote:
Question two: Yes, but only has a one handed weapon -- if he tries to use it as a light weapon he takes the non-proficiency penalty.
Are you sure about this? I'm pretty sure you cannot use it as a light weapon without proficiency.
Going by what you're saying you take the -4 penalty to attack with (presumably) your off-hand, but the -6 penalty to your primary hand becomes -4 (and with the non-proficiency penalty becomes -8) and your off-hand penalty of -10 goes to -8.
Is there a reference for this? Besides the RAW of it, why would anyone do this?
Here is where I got to where I commented.
Using it as an one handed weapon is martial.
It is however an exotic weapon -- using as such without the proper training would be using it non-proficiently...
Kind of like using a bastard sword -- two hands you are fine, one handed not so much (which is where I figured the idea from honestly).
Let's say you are two weapon fighting with the saber here...
-4 / -4 if you use it one handed with the TWF feat and martial proficiency.
IF you try and say it's a light weapon and use it none proficiently (and you are using two of them) you would be:
-2 / -6... unless you are specifically using both of them as a light weapon (instead of just one) in which case you would be: -6/ -6 (yes there is a case where you might want to use both of them as light weapons -- piranha strike is a feat you'll want to look up for this situation).

![]() |

Note that the latest stats for the sawtooth sabre indicate that using it with the Exotic Weapon Proficiency only allows you to count it as '... a light weapon for the purposes of two-weapon fighting - the sabre remains classified as a one-handed melee weapon for all other purposes.' (The Inner Sea World Guide page 290). So you can't use it with Piranha Strike (for example).

james maissen |
Question three: Yes. Only when actually attacking with both weapons do you take the penalties.
To nit pick (as people often confuse it): only when gaining an extra attack with the offhand weapon do you take the penalties.
TWF is not merely having multiple weapons wielded, or even attacking with more than one weapon in a turn... rather it is getting an extra attack with the offhand weapon beyond the number to which you would normally be entitled.
-James