
The Grandfather |

If someone tries to break a grapple, they can make an escape artist check versus the grappler's CMD. Does the +5 circumstance bonus apply to this CMD to resist the escape artist check? In other words, is the CMD considered a grapple check?
No. The +5 modifier only applies to the grappleinitiators own grapple checks. It has no bearing on his CMD.
EDIT: Ninja'ed by Tanis

DM_Blake |

I believe you are misreading it.
If I grapple you, on my turn, I roll my CMB vs. your CMD. You do not get to use Escape Artist on this roll because that is a skill you use on your turns to escape my grapple.
If my grapple is successful, my turn is basically over (I can't do much on the first round of grapple).
Now it's your turn. You can try to use your CMB to escape (you roll your CMB vs. my CMD). Or you can try to use your Escape Artist skill to escape (you roll your skill check vs. my CMD). In both of these cases, the +5 Circumstance Bonus does not yet apply because it is not yet my round (that is my bonus against you, if you fail to escape).
If you escape, the grapple ends and you still have a move action to do whatever you want. If you fail to escape, the grapple remains in effect.
Now it's back to my turn. I can let go as a free action, ending the grapple. But if I want to maintain it, I need to use a standard action to maintain the grapple. Finally, I get my +5 Circumstance Bonus, for the first time, becaues it is the first time I am making a grapple roll to maintain our grapple that you failed to escape. So I roll my CMB + 5 vs. your CMD.
If this roll succeeds, I can now choose to damage you, pin you, or move us.
Now when it gets back to your turn again, you can try to escape again. Just like before, you can try to use your CMB vs. my CMD or your can use your Escape Artist vs. my CMD. And there is no +5 Circumstance Bonus because that is my bonus I use on my rolls to maintain the grapple; it does not penalize you on your rolls to escape.
Clear as mud yet?

Tanis |

I believe you are misreading it.
If I grapple you, on my turn, I roll my CMB vs. your CMD. You do not get to use Escape Artist on this roll because that is a skill you use on your turns to escape my grapple.
If my grapple is successful, my turn is basically over (I can't do much on the first round of grapple).
Now it's your turn. You can try to use your CMB to escape (you roll your CMB vs. my CMD). Or you can try to use your Escape Artist skill to escape (you roll your skill check vs. my CMD). In both of these cases, the +5 Circumstance Bonus does not yet apply because it is not yet my round (that is my bonus against you, if you fail to escape).
If you escape, the grapple ends and you still have a move action to do whatever you want. If you fail to escape, the grapple remains in effect.
Now it's back to my turn. I can let go as a free action, ending the grapple. But if I want to maintain it, I need to use a standard action to maintain the grapple. Finally, I get my +5 Circumstance Bonus, for the first time, becaues it is the first time I am making a grapple roll to maintain our grapple that you failed to escape. So I roll my CMB + 5 vs. your CMD.
If this roll succeeds, I can now choose to damage you, pin you, or move us.
Now when it gets back to your turn again, you can try to escape again. Just like before, you can try to use your CMB vs. my CMD or your can use your Escape Artist vs. my CMD. And there is no +5 Circumstance Bonus because that is my bonus I use on my rolls to maintain the grapple; it does not penalize you on your rolls to escape.
Clear as mud yet?
That's what i said, yeh? *fails will save vs confusion*

DM_Blake |

First two rounds of grapple rules...That's what i said, yeh? *fails will save vs confusion*
No, no, you said this:
The +5 applies to the grappler's grapple check to maintain the grapple on you.
Not to your attempt to get out of the grapple.
See? Very different... :)
OK, OK, you ninja'd me. But in my defense, your post wasn't there when I started typing my reply and I typed up a lot of stuff (assuming the OP is a fairly new player and might benefit from having the sequence spelled out from inception to end).