Same type bonus with different circumstances, stackable or no?


Rules Questions


Specifically I'm thinking about the cavalier's banner giving morale bonus to attacks made as part of a charge. Would this stack with a regular morale bonus to attacks? It's similar to the difference between the morale bonus to will saves and then the morale bonus to will saves vs. fear. One is more restrictive, but do they stack?

I'm guessing no, and it's bothering me because almost all of the cavalier's bonuses are morale bonuses. Some of his class features don't even stack with themselves.


TLO3 wrote:

Specifically I'm thinking about the cavalier's banner giving morale bonus to attacks made as part of a charge. Would this stack with a regular morale bonus to attacks? It's similar to the difference between the morale bonus to will saves and then the morale bonus to will saves vs. fear. One is more restrictive, but do they stack?

I'm guessing no, and it's bothering me because almost all of the cavalier's bonuses are morale bonuses. Some of his class features don't even stack with themselves.

They would not stack.


That's what I figured.

Well, shucks.

Grand Lodge

As I understand the rules, they do not stack and you use the last one cast, even if it is worse.

So no games with BOTH Bard and Cavalier then...

Actually a QUICK scan of Cavalier and the only ability I see with a morale bonus is Banner. The others are unnamed bonuses which do stack...


Krome wrote:

As I understand the rules, they do not stack and you use the last one cast, even if it is worse.

So no games with BOTH Bard and Cavalier then...

If two bonuses or penalties of the same type apply you get the highest one.

Edit: As an example if Ray of Enfeeblment hits you for 7 points of strength penalty, and another ray hits you for 4 the 7 takes precedence. but after the 7 wears off the 4 is still in affect since they overlap, but don't cancel each other out.

Grand Lodge

wraithstrike wrote:
Krome wrote:

As I understand the rules, they do not stack and you use the last one cast, even if it is worse.

So no games with BOTH Bard and Cavalier then...

If two bonuses or penalties of the same type apply you get the highest one.

Edit: As an example if Ray of Enfeeblment hits you for 7 points of strength penalty, and another ray hits you for 4 the 7 takes precedence. but after the 7 wears off the 4 is still in affect since they overlap, but don't cancel each other out.

Yep found it... only the greater bonus applies... I prefer last cast myself >;) But I can live with it.


Quick note most bardic abilities provide competence bonuses instead of morale bonuses. So you can have both without significant over lap.

Scarab Sages

wraithstrike wrote:
If two bonuses or penalties of the same type apply you get the highest one.

Do you have a specific rules quote for that?

In 3.x there was a blanket statement that "two modifiers of the same type don't stack". But as penalties were all unnamed, they always stacked (unless they came from the same source, of course).

Does PF actually specify that penalties don't stack? I haven't been paying attention (duh!) but are all of the penalties in PF named?


azhrei_fje wrote:


Does PF actually specify that penalties don't stack? I haven't been paying attention (duh!) but are all of the penalties in PF named?

I believe it is covered under the stacking rules, though I'm fairly certain it was cleared up back in 3.5 as well.

PFRPG pg. 13 wrote:


Stacking: Stacking refers to the act of adding together bonuses or penalties that apply to one particular check or statistic. Generally speaking, most bonuses of the same type do not stack. Instead, only the highest bonus applies. Most penalties do stack, meaning that their values are added together. Penalties and bonuses generally stack with one another, meaning that the penalties might negate or exceed part or all of the bonuses, and vice versa.
PFRPG pg. 208 wrote:


Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don’t stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above).


Krome wrote:


Yep found it... only the greater bonus applies... I prefer last cast myself >;) But I can live with it.

That could get some odd effects though.

"I cast greater magic weapon, my weapon is now a +4 greatsword! AHA!"

"The orc shaman casts magic weapon on your weapon *touch attack*. It's now a +1 greatsword"

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Same type bonus with different circumstances, stackable or no? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions