
Torinath |

Is a spread spell always assumed to be a sphere, because of the following rules connection: Burst spells are by default spherical, spread spells extend out like a burst spell. So if I cast Entangle a 40' radius spread, would it by default (through the burst rules) be a 40' radius hemisphere meaning it would catch a creature flying 35' in the air above the point of origin?
------------------------------------------------------------------
Burst, Emanation, or Spread: Most spells that affect an area function as a burst, an emanation, or a spread. In each case, you select the spell's point of origin and measure its effect from that point.
A burst spell affects whatever it catches in its area, including creatures that you can't see. It can't affect creatures with total cover from its point of origin (in other words, its effects don't extend around corners). The default shape for a burst effect is a sphere, but some burst spells are specifically described as cone-shaped. A burst's area defines how far from the point of origin the spell's effect extends.
An emanation spell functions like a burst spell, except that the effect continues to radiate from the point of origin for the duration of the spell. Most emanations are cones or spheres.
A spread spell extends out like a burst but can turn corners. You select the point of origin, and the spell spreads out a given distance in all directions. Figure the area the spell effect fills by taking into account any turns the spell effect takes.

Tanis |

So if I cast Entangle a 40' radius spread, would it by default (through the burst rules) be a 40' radius hemisphere meaning it would catch a creature flying 35' in the air above the point of origin?
Ordinarily, yes, see Fireball.
But unless the grass, vines etc., that you're casting entangle on are 35' high...no, sorry.

cwslyclgh |

Torinath wrote:So if I cast Entangle a 40' radius spread, would it by default (through the burst rules) be a 40' radius hemisphere meaning it would catch a creature flying 35' in the air above the point of origin?Ordinarily, yes, see Fireball.
But unless the grass, vines etc., that you're casting entangle on are 35' high...no, sorry.
agreed, unless cast in a jungle like setting with lots of hanging vines and such, entangle is going to be pretty much limited to creatures with in 5 to maybe 10 feet of the ground, even though the magic extends upwards the plants do not.

Torinath |

I understand that Fireball is basically the exception to my preffered interpretation of a spread spell essentially being a circle, not a sphere. I would rule the entangle only extends 5' at most 10' off the ground unless targeted on a tree.
Now what about Black Tentacles? 20' radius sphere, or circle on the ground extending 5 to 10' off the ground? I know the spell description has changed some since 3.5 to allow the reinterpretation of the spell as a sphere, but was this intentionally done to make the spell area a sphere?
There is mention to the effect the Tentacles are considered large,+1 size modifier when calculating the grapple CMB/CMD, (This size is most commonly associated with a 10' reach, supporting a 3.5 reading). But really it is rather ambiguous when it comes down to RAW.