Scrolls and Spell Slots


Rules Questions


I can't seem to find a definitive answer in the PFRPG rules or the forums, but a player in my game is making the argument that when creating a scroll he *does not* expend any spell slots (he's a sorcerer) and that does seem to be the case from what I can find. Under the old v3.5 rules, however, you did expend the slots/prepped spells when you created a scroll.

I know about the 1 magic item/day limit and theoretical limits on how many spells you can fit on a scroll, but it seems like even being able to create a scroll with ~6 spells on it per day at 1st or 2nd level seems unbalanced. Thoughts?


The magic item section has the requirements for crafting items. At the bottom of the link, it never explicitly states that you must spend the spell, but it implies it, especially considering you can spend more than 1 charge form spell completetion items to get the spell.


Caineach wrote:
The magic item section

More than imply...

"That is, that spell slot is expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if it had been cast."

I somehow didn't see the item creation link on the Magic Items page on the PRD. Thanks!


From the PRD:

The creator must have prepared the spell to be scribed (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material component or focus the spell requires. A material component is consumed when she begins writing, but a focus is not. (A focus used in scribing a scroll can be reused.) The act of writing triggers the prepared spell, making it unavailable for casting until the character has rested and regained spells. (That is, that spell slot is expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if it had been cast.)

[i] bold emphasis mine [/b]

The first bold sentence seems pretty straightforward. You got to "cast" the spell into the scroll. The next sentence uses the words "currently prepared spells" but I think that's a slight error. I don't think the intent was to give spontaneous casters an edge in scroll creation.


therealthom wrote:

From the PRD:

The creator must have prepared the spell to be scribed (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material component or focus the spell requires. A material component is consumed when she begins writing, but a focus is not. (A focus used in scribing a scroll can be reused.) The act of writing triggers the prepared spell, making it unavailable for casting until the character has rested and regained spells. (That is, that spell slot is expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if it had been cast.)

[i] bold emphasis mine [/b]

The first bold sentence seems pretty straightforward. You got to "cast" the spell into the scroll. The next sentence uses the words "currently prepared spells" but I think that's a slight error. I don't think the intent was to give spontaneous casters an edge in scroll creation.

It just means that wizards would spend a little extra time to make the scroll if they don't have the spell currently memorized. But since they can then do it from any spell in their book, I hardly find that weaker.


"Scribing a scroll requires 1 day per 1,000 gp of the base price. Although an individual scroll might contain more than one spell, each spell must be scribed as a separate effort, meaning that no more than 1 spell can be scribed in a day."

The time/gp restriction seems fair, but 1 spell/day seems silly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Scrolls and Spell Slots All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions