Divine spell casting question


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

I have a quick question. I have a 6 level cleric of Sarenrae. H e has a breast plate and a heavy steel shield along with a scimitar. If he has his shield out and scimitar drawn, does he need to sheath his scimitar and get out his holy symbol in order to cast Devine spells? How about the Channel energy class feature? Can he cast his divine spells while wielding his scimitar in one hand, and his steel shield in the other? can he chanel energy?

Thanks


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
ElyasRavenwood wrote:

I have a quick question. I have a 6 level cleric of Sarenrae. H e has a breast plate and a heavy steel shield along with a scimitar. If he has his shield out and scimitar drawn, does he need to sheath his scimitar and get out his holy symbol in order to cast Devine spells? How about the Channel energy class feature? Can he cast his divine spells while wielding his scimitar in one hand, and his steel shield in the other? can he chanel energy?

Thanks

He does not need to get his holy symbol out. It is pretty much assumed to always be in a prominent location (such as on a necklace around his neck or some such). For spells with somatic components, however, he does still need a hand free, however. That means he needs to either put his weapon or shield away, or else switch to a lighter shield.

As a supernatural ability you can use channel energy pretty much naked, or with your hands full. However, the text for this ability says that you channel the energy through your holy symbol, strongly implying that you must have the holy symbol at hand (if not IN hand).

Silver Crusade

Thanks Raving Dork,
This is very helpful. Ill just go with the default, having to hold my holy symbol in one hand with the shield in the other. it will be more dramatic that way.


What about having your holy symbol etched on your shield or some other part of your gear? Seems it would work. Just a thought.


LtlBtyRam wrote:
What about having your holy symbol etched on your shield or some other part of your gear? Seems it would work. Just a thought.

Even if allowed you still need a hand free for somatic components.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Divine spell casting question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.