
![]() |

I've got a game session to run Tuesday night and I think this may come up.
The relevant portion of the Web spell:
[...] The entire area of the web is considered difficult terrain. Anyone moving through the webs must make a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check as part of their move action, with a DC equal to the spell's DC. Creatures that fail lose their movement and become grappled in the first square of webbing that they enter.
So let's say a creature enters an area that requires it to squeeze. The area in which it squeezes is considered difficult terrain so that the creature moves at one half its normal speed. While in this squeezed area it then becomes webbed. I see the following results:
1. Creature rolls a Reflex save (let's say it fails).
2. On the creature's turn it wants to move forward, so it rolls a Str check and:
3a. It beats the Str check. Is the creature's movement at 1/2 speed (difficult terrain DOESN'T stack) or 1/4 speed (difficult terrain DOES stack)? Or does it use the normal stacking rules and move at 1/3 speed? (Note that there's a section of the rules that says movement through difficult terrain is cumulative and that's an exception to the normal stacking rules.)
3b. It fails the Str check. The creature becomes grappled in the first square of webbing that it enters. What if it's already in the web? Is that sentence saying that the creature always moves at least 5 feet, even on a failed save? Note that the sentence in questions comes after the part about "anyone moving through the webs", the implication being that the sentence is referring to a creature is already inside the webs.
In addition to all of the above, I assume that line of sight is required to center the spell, so in an area of darkness or obscuring mist, the spell could only be cast at the edge of said obstruction and not inside it?
Thanks for the help. :)

Abraham spalding |

On page 194 there is a part called Double movement cost and it states that the doubling continues happening (so it would be the 1/4 speed) on the successful strength check.
On a failed check the spell states that they lose their movement and become grappled by the web in the first square they entered... so it would be right where the creature is.

![]() |

On page 194 there is a part called Double movement cost and it states that the doubling continues happening (so it would be the 1/4 speed) on the successful strength check.
Okay, got it. Thanks.
On a failed check the spell states that they lose their movement and become grappled by the web in the first square they entered... so it would be right where the creature is.
But that's just it -- if they are already in a square then wanted to move forward, wouldn't the "first square they entered" be the one 5-feet away? After all, movement penalties always apply to the square you enter, not the square you're in.
For example, moving from a solid floor to a muddy one (assuming the mud was enough to slow your movement) would apply the speed penalty, but moving in the opposite direction would not.
That's why I was wondering if the wording had been done specifically to allow a single 5-foot movement while inside a web. (And now I'm wondering if the same type of caveat shouldn't be applied to the wall of thorns. And yes, I had been keeping up with that thread too. :))