
alyflex |

Hi
We noticed in our group that you need a melee weapon to threat another creature, but since my wizard only carries a crossbow he can't threat.
As a response I said that he just use the crossbow as an improvised weapon in melee, as far as we can see you DO threat with an improvised weapon. It does however seem rather cheezy.
Today my GM came with the counterargument that if you can use an crossbow as an improvised weapon, you can also use a belt or your boots, AND if you look under the improvised weapon description it says nothing about needing to wield your improvised weapon in your hands, so you could by RAW make an attack with you belt while its holding your pants up, or with your boots while they are on your feet, and thus you would always be considered armed.
Clearly this is not the intention with the rules, we are however a bit unsure what was intended.
my best bet is that the intention is that you can in fact use everything as an improvised weapon, but if the improvised weapon is worse than an unarmed strike, you provoke attack of oppertunity and you do not threat. If it is better, you do not provoke attack of oppertunity, and you threat with it.
Have we missed some rules in the book? - or do you guys have a better suggestion?

![]() |
Given that improvised weapons have a significant minus... Is your wizard in question too cheap to carry a dagger? which would be of far better use for threat than using his crossbow as a club. (I'm assuming that the wizard in question hasn't made any particular feat investment here)
Either way those are tactics of desperation, not success. My general call is that if the "improvised weapon" is a covering of your body as opposed to an object being wielded... then you're essentially making an unarmed strike... with all that entails. Th