Spell failure with shields


Rules Questions


question: if i have a shield in one hand and nothing in the other, do i still take the shield's arcane spell failure penalty?? I would have to say no, since you technically only need one hand for somatic components according to the rules of combat. am I correct?


No if you are using a shield you suffer the ASF until you aren't using the shield. Otherwise there really wouldn't be a reason for shields having ASF.

Editted: Put the correct abbreviation in.


im not referring to armor check penalty, im asking about spell failure.


Yes you still suffer the penalty. The idea is to take armor of any sort away from casters unless they are willing to suffer for it

PS: Edited to be more clear.


wraithstrike wrote:
Yes you still suffer the penalty. The idea is to take armor of any sort away from casters without making them pay for it.

:: Tongue in cheek :: except everyone's best friend -- the mithral buckler.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell failure with shields All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions