| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Also If the guards try to engage in melee she'll take the AoO as they switch weapons
The guards aim their crossbows at Liandra; she can take an AoO.
As for the Baron, using a wand does not provoke an AoO, so he'll fire his two magic missiles at Knotty, still hoping to disrupt any spells.
The single wand fires two bolts of sulfur smelling smoke.
1d4 + 1 ⇒ (3) + 1 = 41d4 + 1 ⇒ (1) + 1 = 2
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Captain Blacklock is almost felled with a single stroke. He looks astonished as Manfred's sword slides beneath the plates covering his chest at an impossibly precise angle, more surprised when Manfred twists the sword enough to cause blood to spurt out from beneath his armor.
He continues his attack, however.
1d20 + 9 ⇒ (13) + 9 = 221d8 + 6 ⇒ (1) + 6 = 7
| Liandra Nightwind |
1d20 + 11 ⇒ (9) + 11 = 20
1d4 + 1 ⇒ (1) + 1 = 2
Thy're still flatfooted till they act2d6 ⇒ (3, 5) = 8
As The guards swing their crossbows around Liandra watches closely for the one who moves more slowly, striking quickly to drag the blade of her other kukhri across his wrist.
| Eria |
Eria wrote:"Anyone have the keys to this door?" Eria asks"Move away from the tower," calls a voice from within. The sound of a crossbow cranequin being wound adds emphasis.
"Oh okay" Eria replies walking away suddenly remembering something she then moves off out of sight
Just rememberd she can cast animal messanger So she will do that to get a bird to send a message to the commander even include one of the white flowers to let them know the message is from them.
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
1d20+11
1d4+1
Thy're still flatfooted till they act2d6As The guards swing their crossbows around Liandra watches closely for the one who moves more slowly, striking quickly to drag the blade of her other kukhri across his wrist.
The two Chelish bodyguards fire at . Though, for one, it seems more of a spasm from being cut.
1d20 + 5 ⇒ (5) + 5 = 101d8 ⇒ 6
1d20 + 5 ⇒ (9) + 5 = 141d8 ⇒ 7
Neither, in any case, are successful.
Knotty, you're up in that fight.
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Meanwhile, near the front gate, a garri finch flutters down and picks at the bread Eria set out for it. It waits for Eria to tell it where to go.
You compel a Tiny animal to go to a spot you designate. The most common use for this spell is to get an animal to carry a message to your allies. The animal cannot be one tamed or trained by someone else, including such creatures as familiars and animal companions.
Using some type of food desirable to the animal as a lure, you call the animal to you. It advances and awaits your bidding. You can mentally impress on the animal a certain place well known to you or an obvious landmark. The directions must be simple, because the animal depends on your knowledge and can't find a destination on its own. You can attach a small item or note to the messenger. The animal then goes to the designated location and waits there until the duration of the spell expires, whereupon it resumes its normal activities.
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Tarren the Dungeon Master wrote:Commanders tent(if it needs to be simpler the big tent).Meanwhile, near the front gate, a garri finch flutters down and picks at the bread Eria set out for it. It waits for Eria to tell it where to go.
** spoiler omitted **
The bird flutters away towards the big tent.
| Knotty Ashe |
Knotty returns fire, aiming his last glitterdust at the Baron, but making sure to avoid Liandra. Then the little halfling ducks down below the level of the table and chairs, gaining as much cover as he can.
DC15 Will save to negate possible blindness, glitterdust
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Knotty returns fire, aiming his last glitterdust at the Baron, but making sure to avoid Liandra. Then the little halfling ducks down below the level of the table and chairs, gaining as much cover as he can.
DC15 Will save to negate possible blindness, glitterdust
Baron's Will save: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (12) + 10 = 22
"Oooh. You made me shiny. Going to the ball, are we?" says the Baron sarcastically even though surely he recognizes the danger he's in.
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
(On his next round action)
Sir Manfred blocks again, and this time follows up with a shield bash.
Shield bash attack: 1d20+8
Shield bash damage: 1d4+3
Sir Manfred's attack is fended off easily. Captain Blacklock replies with his sword.
1d20 + 9 ⇒ (16) + 9 = 25
1d8 + 6 ⇒ (8) + 6 = 14
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
The message is a fairly simple one stating that the Baron has been driven from the keep and that we are looking for him in the town. Also that most of the guards no longer seem all that interested in fighting
Somewhere in the distance, a garri finch settles down outside of the largest tent in the camp -- the mess tent -- where it catches the attention of the boy who scrubs the pans. Years from now, stories will be told of how the boy ran 24 miles to alert an Andoran general of the surrender of Piren's Bluff, but in fact it was just two tents down. The boy becomes a hero. The finch becomes more meat in the stew.
What does Eria do in the meantime?
| Sir Manfred VonFalkenburg |
Sir Manfred misses the block and takes a serious hit; he reels back a step before counterattacking.
HP: 35 (Currently about 63%)
Longsword attack: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (20) + 10 = 30
Crit confirm? 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (1) + 10 = 11
Longsword damage: 1d8 + 4 ⇒ (2) + 4 = 6
Crit add. dam: 1d8 + 4 ⇒ (7) + 4 = 11
| Eria |
Eria wrote:The message is a fairly simple one stating that the Baron has been driven from the keep and that we are looking for him in the town. Also that most of the guards no longer seem all that interested in fightingSomewhere in the distance, a garri finch settles down outside of the largest tent in the camp -- the mess tent -- where it catches the attention of the boy who scrubs the pans. Years from now, stories will be told of how the boy ran 24 miles to alert an Andoran general of the surrender of Piren's Bluff, but in fact it was just two tents down. The boy becomes a hero. The finch becomes more meat in the stew.
What does Eria do in the meantime?
Wait to see if they got the message (was kind of relying on the finch returning a reply as per the spell so may be waiting for quite a while)
Edit Scratch that just realised it doesn't allow a return message option (assuming she would know what her spell can and cant do)So will wait about 10 minutes or so and assuming it doesn't begin raining arrowed death in that time take that as a sign that the message was received
Galadar
|
Apology:
I'll assume Galadar is wherever the DM tells me he is at this point. If outside, can I hear the noise inside from the fight with the Baron?
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Manfred's blade penetrates the fine plate. Captain Blacklock sees the gash open up on his arm and finds he can barely lift his shield. He begins to defend with it by swinging his hips and throwing his shield around in front of him with a straight, useless arm.
His sword arm still works though.
1d20 + 9 ⇒ (11) + 9 = 20
1d8 + 6 ⇒ (3) + 6 = 9
Speaking of plate, is Manfred still wearing that ill-fitting bat-themed plate from the evil dwarves?
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Liandra swings viciously at the Baron trying to forestall another magical attack.
Khukri 1
1d20+11
1d4+1Khukri 2
1d20+11
1d4+1
The Baron seems surprised to find the khukri drawing blood again. Here's a man who has relied on magic for so long and had so little need to overextend himself that he's grown slack about the knowing the limits of his power.
He steps back and withdraws into the hallway then turns into one of the rooms.
The two Chelish bodyguards have dropped their crossbows and are drawing their swords. This doesn't trigger an attack of opportunity, does it? Also, I know it's not their turn yet.
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Sir Manfred takes the blow, which deflects off the plate armor in a shower of sparks. He counters with a shield bash.
Shield attack: 1d20+8
Shield damage: 1d4+3
Captain Blacklock, his eyes desperate and wild, tracks Manfred's sword as it moves around. He prepares to throw his shield up in front of him to block it, swinging his dead arm back by swinging his hips.
The shield crunching into the side of his head takes him completely by surprise. He falls.
Whispering in the door way ceases but slowly a murmur of approval begins.
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Knotty moves up to Liandra and casts a spell upon her, briefly wings appear on her heels.
"Get after the Baron. I'll take these."
Knotty moves then casts expeditious retreat.
Pursuing the Baron will trigger AoO from the guards (unless expeditious retreat does something about those) as it involves moving through a threatened square.
| Eria |
This doesn't trigger an attack of opportunity, does it? Also, I know it's not their turn yet.
It dosent (assuming they just dropped and not properly put away) but if they don't have the Quickdraw feat it counts as a move action
Once Eria is fairly certain that the town is not going to be attacked again she will begin to head back to the others.
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Tarren the Dungeon Master wrote:
This doesn't trigger an attack of opportunity, does it? Also, I know it's not their turn yet.
It dosent (assuming they just dropped and not properly put away) but if they don't have the Quickdraw feat it counts as a move action
That's for shields. Dropping objects is a free action. Drawing weapons is a free action with +1 BAB. I think doing both might qualify as a move action.
| Liandra Nightwind |
Liandra Nightwind wrote:Liandra swings viciously at the Baron trying to forestall another magical attack.
Khukri 1
1d20+11
1d4+1Khukri 2
1d20+11
1d4+1The Baron seems surprised to find the khukri drawing blood again. Here's a man who has relied on magic for so long and had so little need to overextend himself that he's grown slack about the knowing the limits of his power.
He steps back and withdraws into the hallway then turns into one of the rooms.
The two Chelish bodyguards have dropped their crossbows and are drawing their swords. This doesn't trigger an attack of opportunity, does it? Also, I know it's not their turn yet.
If someone's in melee with you it does.Well the drawing a weapon part anyway, dropping's a free action.
| Tarren the Dungeon Master |
Tarren the Dungeon Master wrote:If someone's in melee with you it does.Well the drawing a weapon part anyway, dropping's a free action.Liandra Nightwind wrote:Liandra swings viciously at the Baron trying to forestall another magical attack.
Khukri 1
1d20+11
1d4+1Khukri 2
1d20+11
1d4+1The Baron seems surprised to find the khukri drawing blood again. Here's a man who has relied on magic for so long and had so little need to overextend himself that he's grown slack about the knowing the limits of his power.
He steps back and withdraws into the hallway then turns into one of the rooms.
The two Chelish bodyguards have dropped their crossbows and are drawing their swords. This doesn't trigger an attack of opportunity, does it? Also, I know it's not their turn yet.
You may be right but where do you find that?
| Eria |
Liandra Nightwind wrote:You may be right but where do you find that?Tarren the Dungeon Master wrote:If someone's in melee with you it does.Well the drawing a weapon part anyway, dropping's a free action.Liandra Nightwind wrote:Liandra swings viciously at the Baron trying to forestall another magical attack.
Khukri 1
1d20+11
1d4+1Khukri 2
1d20+11
1d4+1The Baron seems surprised to find the khukri drawing blood again. Here's a man who has relied on magic for so long and had so little need to overextend himself that he's grown slack about the knowing the limits of his power.
He steps back and withdraws into the hallway then turns into one of the rooms.
The two Chelish bodyguards have dropped their crossbows and are drawing their swords. This doesn't trigger an attack of opportunity, does it? Also, I know it's not their turn yet.
Says in the Rulebook that drawing a weapon does not provoke. pg 183 Table8.2
| Eria |
Eria wrote:That's for shields. Dropping objects is a free action. Drawing weapons is a free action with +1 BAB. I think doing both might qualify as a move action.Tarren the Dungeon Master wrote:
This doesn't trigger an attack of opportunity, does it? Also, I know it's not their turn yet.
It dosent (assuming they just dropped and not properly put away) but if they don't have the Quickdraw feat it counts as a move action
Rule book says if you have a BAB + 1 you can draw a weapon as a part of a move action on the same page as the AoO chart