Elemental Affinity racial abilities: What exactly do I modify?


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

So I'm building an Ifrit Wishcrafter with the Fire Elemental Bloodline for PFS, and I'm trying to determine what exactly the Fire Affinity racial ability modifies.

Fire Affinity:
Ifrit sorcerers with the elemental (fire) bloodline treat their Charisma score as 2 points higher for all sorcerer spells and class abilities. Ifrit spellcasters with the Fire domain use their domain powers and spells at +1 caster level.

In order to make my question as clear as possible, I thought it would be best to list the various things that a Sorcerer's Charisma can modify, in order of most to least likely to be affected (in my opinion).

1: Checks and attack rolls made by spells such as Hydraulic Push which add the caster's ability score modifier.

2: DCs and uses per day for class abilities (usually bloodline powers).

3: DCs for spells.

4: Bonus spells per day.

5: Charisma-based class skills. (An especially large stretch, but I thought it should be mentioned.)

If anyone could point out a RAW reason why any of these do or don't qualify, that would be much appreciated. I'm personally of the opinion that numbers 3 and 4 are the only real border cases, but I'm open to being proved wrong one way or the other.


Sesharan wrote:

So I'm building an Ifrit Wishcrafter with the Fire Elemental Bloodline for PFS, and I'm trying to determine what exactly the Fire Affinity racial ability modifies.

** spoiler omitted **

In order to make my question as clear as possible, I thought it would be best to list the various things that a Sorcerer's Charisma can modify, in order of most to least likely to be affected (in my opinion).

1: Checks and attack rolls made by spells such as Hydraulic Push which add the caster's ability score modifier.

2: DCs and uses per day for class abilities (usually bloodline powers).

3: DCs for spells.

4: Bonus spells per day.

5: Charisma-based class skills. (An especially large stretch, but I thought it should be mentioned.)

If anyone could point out a RAW reason why any of these do or don't qualify, that would be much appreciated. I'm personally of the opinion that numbers 3 and 4 are the only real border cases, but I'm open to being proved wrong one way or the other.

It unquestionably does 2, 3, and 4, as that is the entire purpose of the ability, and does not do 5. I never would have considered it doing 1--I'm inclined to think it does not work, but I'd allow it as a GM.


I'm in the camp that 1-4 works, but not 5. The skills of a class are not, afaik, a class ability, much like its hit die.


1-4 should work.

You also forgot one option.

6. Highest level spell you can cast.

I think it applies to 6 as well.


I'm with Samasboy1, though I'm not absolutely certain about 4 being RAI.

Shadow Lodge

I finally remembered the other two! Figures, I spent a good half-hour staring at my screen when I wrote the original post trying to remember these two and then I remembered them as soon as I went to work. So... Samasboy1 offered
6: Highest level spell that can be cast.

I would also add
7: Concentration checks.

8: Spell-like Abilities that mimic Sorcerer spells. (i.e., the Burning Hands SLA that Ifrits get.)

Shadow Lodge

Bump.


Again, I'm inclined to treat 7 the same as 1--I don't think it works by RAW, but I'd be willing to treat it that way since Ifrits suck otherwise.

8 is an definite no, however. That ability has absolutely nothing to do with the Sorcerer class.

Sczarni

The +1 Caster Level would certainly affect Concentration checks, though.

Silver Crusade

I contend it would certainly improve concentration checks.


I agree with concentration checks being included, and not Spell like Abilities.

So, for a running tally, we have 1-4, 6-7 Yes; and 5, 8 No.

Shadow Lodge

Thanks to everyone who gave their input! It'll be helpful to have some other opinions to point to when I play this character with an unfamiliar GM, and I hope some other people got something to think about as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Elemental Affinity racial abilities: What exactly do I modify? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions