
Jeffpack |

Now im not really sure i understand Overrun. Its a standard action thats part of a move action and you can do it in a charge, but you cant attack at all if you overrun, it just gets you through their space and makes them prone if you succeed. But what if you want to get through more than one things space (if you have the movement) same rules or do you get a penalty for each extra foe?

The Black Bard |

An overrun attempt involves moving, so theres a move action. As soon as you bump into somone (which means entering their square and provoking an Attack of Op) you use a standard action to attempt to knock them over. Picture an NFL player shouldering someone aside. Thats an overrun.
While I love overrun for thematic and coolness, the rules are unfortunately rather limited in terms of what you can do. You can't overrun more than one creature (lame!) and as per the official errata on the WotC site, you can't overrun as part of a charge, because you can't enter a creature's square when charging (silly logic loop).
Overrun is awesome for the fighter (or barbarian) to get on the other side of an enemy and leave the enemy prone and (now) flanked for the rogue. Easy sneak attack, plus flanking attacks of opp if he stands up!
House rules could be implemented regarding the charging overrun (which really isn't game breaking, just a logic inconsistency) and the multi-overrun (which could be restricted to Improved Overrun, at a -2 or -4 for each opponent after the first).
Hope that helps!

Ender_rpm |

I don't understand the logic of the "charge" ruling. Unless, of course, they are saying the target of the charge cannot be targeted with an overrun, thereby gaining the attack bonus. Plus, I would probably rule you can charge, but if the first guy (the one to be overrun) resists you, that becomes your action for the round. FWIW, charge IS a full round action, while a move action with an embedded standard action (move-overrun) and then an attack may work, but you wouldn;t get the charge bonus, since there is something in your way, per charge rules. otherwise the same square ruling makes no sense. My $.02