Wielding Unidentified Magic Weapons


Rules Questions


So I have a player who's weilding an Artifact Weapon. Since the rules are sketchy/up to dm fiat on how an artifact's identified & the party hasn't rolled a high enough spellcraft/knowledge yet, nor found the means to go on a relevant side quest to discover what it is. So he's essentially wielding an unidentified magical weapon and I'm curious as to what effects he can or cannot wield.

Don't read if you're one of my players

Spoiler:
It's essentially a tricked out Lucky Blade. Still only 3 wishes, but it resets to each new wielder. Also the sword gets more powerful or weaker depending on the nature of the wishes, gaining higher levels of enchantment and new abilities as one goes. I made a table up on the nature of the wishes too. This sword is a relative mcguffin and important to the overarching story.

As for my question, obviously this is a fringe case and I am more interested in general rules for unidentified magical item usage.

So, specifics out of the way, how do you treat using undenified magical items under normal circumstances? For example, if a player has a Luck Blade, with a wish left on the sword. What can he use or not use with the item? He's using the sword, so does it count as "use activated" for the purposes of all the effects? Namely the reroll, saves, and wish ability?

Or are part of the effects activated by the command word? To reroll for example does he need to know the command word? What of the wish effect? Would you say they have to actually say, "I wish..."? Also, with regards to that, would one have to actually be wielding the sword while they say so or could it be on their belt?

Or is all of this predesignated when the item is created, and it's up to the creator(Or dm in this case) to make the call of whether or not the item's abilities are easy to use?

Grand Lodge

In general, if the wielder hasn't identified an item, its constant, automatic or use-activated effects continue to operate but he can't take an action to activate powers that require such.

A luck blade, for instance, grants its bonus to attacks and saving throws. I think, in this case, even the reroll ability might work. The character can't make a wish unless he knows about that power and the command to activate it - though an intelligent artifact version might understand his intent in a desperate situation and use the power itself.

The reroll power and saving throw bonus work even if he has it sheathed, since he only has to possess it. It's not entirely clear to me what's required to activate a weapon ability that doesn't involve an attack, such as the wishes. Possibly he would only have to speak the command.


Starglim wrote:

In general, if the wielder hasn't identified an item, its constant, automatic or use-activated effects continue to operate but he can't take an action to activate powers that require such.

A luck blade, for instance, grants its bonus to attacks and saving throws. I think, in this case, even the reroll ability might work. The character can't make a wish unless he knows about that power and the command to activate it - though an intelligent artifact version might understand his intent in a desperate situation and use the power itself.

See, I hadn't been granting the reroll yet, mostly cause it hasn't shown a good opportunity to either, but now I'll give the opportunity to the player if he rolls really poorly.

On the wish, that's how I had been interpreting it, just wanted confirmation.

Quote:
The reroll power and saving throw bonus work even if he has it sheathed, since he only has to possess it. It's not entirely clear to me what's required to activate a weapon ability that doesn't involve an attack, such as the wishes. Possibly he would only have to speak the command.

YEah that's what I was hung up on too. However since he has to know the command word, I don't see that being an issue.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wielding Unidentified Magic Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.