Bonus attacks in the Attack Sequence


Rules Questions


Do bonus attacks have to follow the descending-BAB order in a full-attack sequence? For example, would a character with a BAB of +6 and a Haste buff be able to take the bonus attack last (sequence of +6/+1/+6), or would they have to follow +6/+6/+1?

What about conditional bonus attacks, like those from the Medusa's Wrath feat, where the sequence could determine whether the attacks are granted at all? For example, a level 20 monk performs an unarmed Flurry of Blows using the Dazing Assault feat (+13/+13/+8/+8/+3/+3/-2), and hits and dazes the opponent with his 3rd unarmed strike. Would the monk be able to take the bonus attacks from Medusa's Wrath this round? Could he choose when to take them, or would they need to be taken immediately (being the highest-BAB attacks available at that moment)?

Thanks for any help.


You can use the attacks at any point in the attack routine that you want, as nothing in the wording of any of them restricts it otherwise.

On Medusa, for completeness's sake, here is the feat:

Medusa's Wrath:
Whenever you use the full-attack action and make at least one unarmed strike, you can make two additional unarmed strikes at your highest base attack bonus. These bonus attacks must be made against a dazed, flat-footed, paralyzed, staggered, stunned, or unconscious foe.

It doesn't say they have to be dazed, flat-footed, paralyzed, etc. at the start of the attack routine, just that you get two additional unarmed strikes at your highest BAB and they have to against a foe that meets one of those conditions. So they have to meet the condition when you make the attacks, but you can use earlier attacks to get them to meet the condition.

So yeah, if you daze on hit 3, you can get 2 more hits at any point during the rest of the routine at your highest BAB.


Bascaria wrote:
You can use the attacks at any point in the attack routine that you want, as nothing in the wording of any of them restricts it otherwise.
That's how I originally assumed it would work, it just occurred to me recently that nothing specifically contradicted the attack sequence rule. But reading the "Full Attack" description again now myself, it occurs to me that this only applies to the bolded reason for having multiple attacks:
Quote:
If you get multiple attacks because your base attack bonus is high enough, you must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest.

So it has no bearing on bonus attacks. Thanks for helping again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bonus attacks in the Attack Sequence All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions