Mounted Ranged Attacks


Rules Questions


The rules for mounted combat stipulate that:

Mounted Combat wrote:
If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack.

I see "melee" being specifically used.

Does this mean that a character can take a Full Attack action with a bow, for example, while their mount moves more than 5 feat?


You can. If your mount takes more than a single move though you will take stiff penalties and your attacks happen at the halfway point of the mount's movement.

"You can use ranged weapons while your mount is taking a double move, but at a –4 penalty on the attack roll. You can use ranged weapons while your mount is running (quadruple speed) at a –8 penalty. In either case, you make the attack roll when your mount has completed half its movement. You can make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your mount is moving. Likewise, you can take move actions normally."


Thanks. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounted Ranged Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions