Gnome Pincher


Rules Questions


The weapon gnome pincher has "disarm" as well as saying it gives +2 to disarm and steal combat maneuvers. Does this mean it grants +4 total to disarm attempts or is it being weird and stating the bonus twice?

Also, do you think it is unreasonable to waive the "have a hand free to steal" rules if you are dual wielding gnome pinchers? ...asking for a friend...


I think they're stating the bonus twice so as to avoid the "but don't I get a bonus to disarm too?" confusion that would result from just "you get +2 to steal." (If so, obviously it was a bad move!) But I wouldn't blink at a GM going the other way.

RAW you still need a hand free, but if you're in a home game it's perfectly reasonable to say the pincher makes the steal and if your other hand is occupied (by a pincher or anything else) all it means is the stolen object stays in the pincher instead of getting transferred to your (nonexistent) free hand. That is, the pincher itself is a free hand as far as steal attempts go.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gnome Pincher All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.