![]()
Search Posts
![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() Hi! I recently put in an order for the Orange and Yellow starfinder pawn bases (one of each size and color). Unfortunately, it appears I have received 2 yellow medium, 2 yellow large, and 2 yellow huge pawn base sets and no orange pawn base sets of any size. Probably an honest mistake but I would still be interested in acquiring the orange pawn bases. Can you let me know how I might be able get those? Thanks! PS. Red Large Pawn Bases and Blue Medium Pawn Bases were sold out when I made my order. Might you have any idea on if you'll be restocking those and what the time frame on those might be if you are planning on restocking them? Thanks again! ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() Hi! In order #29227225, I have two subscriptions set to ship: Starfinder Adventure Path and Starfinder Rulebook. In order #27228782 (which is more recent), I have started the Pathfinder Rulebook subscription and Pathfinder Pawns subscription and also ordered some pawn bases to go along with those. I put those items in the sidecart and I am hoping that those items will ship with order #29227225 if possible. Thank you for your assistance. ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() RAW is pretty clear, I'm asking about intent. I had to tk blast a salamander (with a barrel of scrap metal it had behind it if you're curious) from a grapple last night and remembered kinetic blast is a SLA (I did succeed on my conc check, thanks to the wound system). This morning, it hit me that I don't remember text in kinetic blade specifically getting rid of concentration checks of melee casting and checked just to make sure. And lo and behold, no text exists. So now I ask my thread title. Outta curiousity more than anything. Also might apply to K. Whip and K. Fist. ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() I still intend to get the books but I can't afford it at this moment. I was wondering if there was a way to get my order held off on shipping similar to what happens when a Pre-Auth fails and you have to go to My Payment Methods. If I make my account under the charge amount, will it fail in a similar way? Thanks for the help! ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() I just got my Pending email for Order 3208180 which includes a Tides of Battle Deck and the Subscription for the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game (Advanced Class Guide) and the Subscription for the Pathfinder Campaign Setting (Technology Guide). This is awesome... but in Order 3207971 I had also got a Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscription (Iron Gods #1) and that was the same order as my other subscriptions (though not the same as the Tides of Battle deck [again] Order 3213400). I was curious why my Order Pending email doesn't include the AP Subscription and why it's listed as "will be the next volume to ship" while the ACG and Tech Guide are listed as Pending. Will I receive all of these items: Advanced Class Guide
in one package or separate packages? Thank you for the assistance! ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() Turns out being a demigod is a lot more complicated then getting a bunch of spell-like abilities from your new domains and subdomains! Now, these are mostly theoretical questions as many GMs aren't going to have their players worry to much about their followers other then in a "how do you treat them?" type of way. Still, it turns out there are a lot of unanswered questions concerning being a demigod! I am interested in others people thoughts and opinions on some of these questions so onwards! Worshipers (OR how much do you inheritantly know and much requires divinations on your part OR how screwed in knowing about your worshipers are you if you are a Martial non-casting class) 1. Do you know the name of every worshiper?
Contact To/From Worshipers (OR Just how often are you going to tell your followers "I don't know") 1. Prayer (not the spell) is a common form of trying to ask gods and demigods for favors. Are you capable of hearing these prayers? How much can you act on them?
Portfolios (Nothing witty here, sorry I'm terrible)
For now, these are the questions I have. If people have some more they are curious about, feel free to post them up. This is an open discussion and is far less concerned with RAW then normal - I am interested in how people would run these things or what their thoughts are and how they might run it in say Wrath of the Righteous. ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() You guys put up with a lot of bull and get way to much flak for doing your jobs. Keep trekkin' on. This storm will pass once people learn they can make this game what they want to make of it (and that right now they are making it incredibly depressing as I watch this community's behavior). So thank you again and know that a lot of us still have your back. ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() So I was looking at the attacks of the cerberi. Beyond my question of "Is this creature really appropriate for this level of summon monster?" (Level 4 btw), I was considering their stats under the effects of Augment Summoning and I noticed a few things. First, Their 3 Bite attacks probably need to be errata'd as the damage listed is 1d6+4 with a strength of 16 and no feats or abilities augmenting the damage. As such the damage should be 1d6+3. If there is a thread where I might post that information (assuming it hasn't already), I would love a link. Now onto the actual rule question: The cerberi have a rend special attack that has a unique property. It's listed as "rend (2 bites, 1d6+4 or 3 bites, 1d6+8)". The 2 bites rend has the correct damage (bite die type + 1.5 strength) and I understand that the 3 Bites rend is unique. My question is, if the Cerberi's strength is increased for whatever reason, what is the proper equation for determining it's damage? The obvious is (str mod x1.5)x 2 but I would like to make sure (and possibly ask that in future publications, unique rends like this be noted). Thanks for your time! ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() Possible Maiden, Mother, Crone spoilers but also my question:
Hi! I need some help with the most recent Pathfinder, Maiden, Mother, Crone. In the Kostchtchie there is a specific mention of Fiendish Ice Elementals and Half-Fiend Yeti's as summonable by his priests. There are several questions concerning this.
1st) Does the Fiendish Ice Elemental keep their Fire Vulnerability or do they not keep the Fire resistance 2nd) If for some reason they have both, which is the correct order of operations? a) Saving Throw -> Fire Resistance -> Fire Vulnerability b) Fire Resistance -> Saving Throw -> Fire Vulnerability Or c) Saving Throw -> Fire Vulnerability -> Fire Resistance I highly expect that (Saving Throw -> Fire Resistance -> Fire Vulnerability) is the correct order but I can't find where that specifically is spelled out. 3) Now as to the Yeti question, that's a bit more complicated! See the Half-Fiend template specifically says that it changes the creature's type to Outsider (Native). The Yeti's type goes from Monstrous Humanoid (Cold) to Outsider (Native). Would the Yeti lose its cold immunity and fire vulnerability as those are specifically granted by the Cold subtype or does he keep the Cold subtype for some reason? Thank you all! ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() Spell Combat:
At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty). If he casts this spell defensively, he can decide to take an additional penalty on his attack rolls, up to his Intelligence bonus, and add the same amount as a circumstance bonus on his concentration check. If the check fails, the spell is wasted, but the attacks still take the penalty. A magus can choose to cast the spell first or make the weapon attacks first, but if he has more than one attack, he cannot cast the spell between weapon attacks. Spellstrike:
Spellstrike (Su) At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell. If successful, this melee attack deals its normal damage as well as the effects of the spell. If the magus makes this attack in concert with spell combat, this melee attack takes all the penalties accrued by spell combat melee attacks. This attack uses the weapon’s critical range (20, 19–20, or 18–20 and modified by the keen weapon property or similar effects), but the spell effect only deals ×2 damage on a successful critical hit, while the weapon damage uses its own critical modifier. Touch Attacks:
Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll. Touch Attacks: Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The act of casting a spell, however, does provoke an attack of opportunity. Touch attacks come in two types: melee touch attacks and ranged touch attacks. You can score critical hits with either type of attack as long as the spell deals damage. Your opponent's AC against a touch attack does not include any armor bonus, shield bonus, or natural armor bonus. His size modifier, Dexterity modifier, and deflection bonus (if any) all apply normally. Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.
Full Attack Action:
Full Attack If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough (see Base Attack Bonus in Classes), because you fight with two weapons or a double weapon, or for some special reason, you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks. You do not need to specify the targets of your attacks ahead of time. You can see how the earlier attacks turn out before assigning the later ones. The only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. You may take the step before, after, or between your attacks. If you get multiple attacks because your base attack bonus is high enough, you must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest. If you are using two weapons, you can strike with either weapon first. If you are using a double weapon, you can strike with either part of the weapon first. Bladed Dash:
Bladed Dash School transmutation Level bard 2, magus 2 Casting Time 1 standard action Components V Range personal Targets you Duration instantaneous Source Inner Sea Magic Both Quantium and Jalmeray claim that this spell was born in their arcane universities. Regardless of the spell's origin, it quickly spread throughout the Inner Sea and beyond as spellcasting sword-fighters learned of its existence.
Dimensional Savant:
Dimensional Agility Teleportation does not faze you. Prerequisitites: Ability to use the abundant step class feature or cast dimension door. Benefit: After using abundant step or casting dimension door, you can take any actions you still have remaining on your turn. You also gain a +4 bonus on Concentration checks when casting teleportation spells. Source: Ultimate Combat Okay, all of the above are pertinent to the various questions I have. The first questions I have pertains to Spellstrike and full attacks. Namely holding a charge. The bolded areas will spell out the exact question while the rest will state the situation. This Situation below arises: A Magus starts his turn in melee with an enemy. He declares he's using Spell Combat and decides to start off with his spell. He decides to cast shocking grasp and declares it a Spellstrike. He makes his attack roll and sadly misses. My first question is: Since he can then hold the charge, will his next attacks with his weapon be able to discharge the spell? Now, let's say the Magus above either misses all his attacks (Sad Panda) or he uses his Spellstrike AFTER he did his normal full-attack routine and missed then. He proceeds to hold the charge until his next turn. Second Question: If he gets hit in between his turns he won't lose the charge would he? --- Third Question: Perhaps his opponent proceeds to move out of combat or otherwise provokes an Attack of Opportunity. Would the Magus be able to discharge the spell with that Attack of Opportunity? Let's say for the moment he makes it to his next turn and is still holding the charge. He decides to Spell Combat, deciding to do his full attack. Fourth Question: Assuming my first question was answered with a yes, he should be able to Full-Attack, discharge his spell with Spell Strike then cast another spell thanks to Spell Combat, right? --- Fifth Question: Let's say this Magus is having a bad day and misses with all of his attacks during this spell combat, when it gets to his spell casting step of spell combat, can he just decide not to cast a spell and and thus not lose the charge? That SHOULD cover everything concerning Spellstrike. Onwards to Spell Combat + Bladed Dash OR Dimension Door w/ Dimensional Agility! This question is a lot easier to boil down to one simple question: When I declare Spell Combat, I can choose to cast the spell prior to the full attack. If I am not within 5-foot step range to my target (and thus would normally have to take a move action to move up to them), can I cast either Bladed Dash or Dimension Door (whilst having the Dimensional Agility feat) to reach my target THEN take my full attack after these spells resolve (Bladed Dash give the caster an attack), getting my multiple swings, in a similar fashion to Pounce? ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() Hello all! I wanted to try something new. Sure the Mythic system is still being worked on but I kinda felt compelled to try my hand at making "new" monsters with the rules. I present: Mythic Dragons! on Google Documents. Some things to note:
I haven't made sample dragons yet but they will of course have mythic feats and spells when I stat them up. When it comes to the Prismatic dragons my thoughts are along similar lines as the Force dragon: Instead of Force Sundering, Prism Strike: natural attacks that randomly inflicts a single prismatic layer (saving throw allowed as normal) each attack. Instead of Gravity Well, Blinding Lights: A blinding aura that can affect creatures of any hit dice and allows a fortitude save. Instead of Barrier Breath, Veil Breath: a prismatic wall line is breathed out (note! there might be multiple levels to make sure a CR 10+ creature isn't getting a Prismatic Wall breath weapon until the most Ancient of Prismatic Dragons [say CR 30 to 35].) Now a bit of lore! Potential Unofficial Lore!:
A long time ago on a distant world, a powerful enchantress known only as the Dragon Mistress had gathered all 10 of the Orbs of Dragonkind. Though Apsu and Dahak were still in their perpetual battle, they sensed a great and terrible force that threatened not only all of dragonkind but themselves should the powers of the Dragon Mistress continue to grow any stronger.
Putting aside their hatred of each other, if only temporarily, Apsu and Dahak met on neutral grounds to gather power to defeat the Dragon Mistress. Gathering scale from both of them, they formed a powerful telekinetic sphere of force around their scales. Together they imbued the sphere with life through their breath, the sphere formed the egg of the 1st force dragon. Once it hatched, fully grown and powerful enough to slay nations, the two dragon gods sent the force dragon to do battle with the Dragon Mistress and slay her. The two did great and terrible battle, slaughtering lands in their wake. Yet the Dragon Mistress and her army of dragons drove off the greatly wounded force dragon. Realizing they had underestimated the godlike power of the Dragon Mistress, the two realized the sacrifice they would have to make to ensured the Dragon Mistress fell. Both severing a talon of their claws, they encased them in a sphere of pure prismatic light. They breathed on the sphere, imbuing it with a shard of their own power and life. This time, egg was of the most beautiful shades of light itself. The prismatic dragon was given life with the purpose of ensuring the Orbs of Dragonkind remained ever separate. Together with the healed force dragon, the prismatic dragon headed to battle with the Dragon Mistress. The details of the battle is long forgotten now, the world annihilated in the aftermath of the fight. The Dragon Mistress disappeared with the orbs of dragonkind separated across the many worlds and planes. The force dragon and the prismatic dragon returned to their divine creators. The truce between Apsu and Dahak had ran its course and the two agreed to keep the newly created dragons around to keep watch should the Dragon Mistress or any like her return, giving both the right to give birth to more of their kind. Then Apsu and Dahak separated to return to their everlasting war against one another. There is much speculation on the fate of the Dragon Mistress herself. Some believe she may have been a servant of the dragon mother Tiamat or perhaps Tiamat herself. Others wonder if perhaps the various orbs might move according to her will, perhaps waiting to strike back at Apsu or Dahak. What is known, however, is that there are many mighty prismatic and force dragons across cosmos, ever vigilant for the Dragon Mistress or others that would seek to undermine the will of all dragonkind.
Any comments you might have on the story or stat blocks above, feel free to leave below. Note that I did use Golarion gods for the lore but this is by no means official nor does this mean the story can't be adapted to other dragon gods. Enjoy. ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() Hey guys this a minor little archetype I decided I'd like to to see put together. We already know that specialist wizards got a much needed boost in Pathfinder but I feel that there is a little bit of design space left available for the "True Specialists" of the various worlds, from the Red Wizards of Thay in Forgotten Realms to the Master Specialist from the Complete Mage. This is a little archetype I put together taking a little inspiration from the Master Specialist from Complete Mage, the Focused Specialist replacement class ability from Complete Mage, and the Red Wizard from the 3.5 Dungeon Master's Guide. I'm interested in critiques as well as possible ways to make the archetype more interesting. I'm thinking of changing the Spell Specialization to the 5th and 15th level feat slots and finding something new and interesting for the 10th and 20th level feat slots. True Specialist Many wizards specialize in the various schools of magic. They choose a school of magic that they feel the comfortable with and learn ways make use of the most basic tenets of their chosen school in clever ways. While these specialists do neglect some of the other schools of magic to further their studies in the chosen school, they fail to completely cut themselves away from their “forbidden” schools. The true specialist wizard views this as a skin-deep commitment at best. The true specialist wizard understands the true meaning of the word forbidden and in doing so understands the true meaning of specialist. True Specialization: A true specialist wizard must choose a school of magic to specialize in, gaining additional spells and abilities based on that school. This choice must be made at 1st level. A true specialist wizard can’t choose the universalist school.
Each arcane school gives the true specialist wizard a number of school powers. A true specialist wizard adds 2 uses per day to their arcane school power that is both available at 1st level and normally usable a number of times per day equal to 3 + the wizard’s Intelligence modifier. In addition, specialist wizards receive two additional spell slots of each spell level he can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a wizard can prepare spells from his specialty school in these slots. This spell must be in the wizard’s spellbook. A wizard can select a spell modified by a metamagic feat to prepare in his school slot, but it uses up a higher-level spell slot. A true specialist wizard may choose to specialize in a subschool. A true specialist wizard that chooses specialize in an elemental school is treated a bit differently in regards to forbidden and opposition schools. A elementalist true specialist wizard chooses one school to specialize in and the element opposite of that school is considered his forbidden school, treating it the same way described above for forbidden schools. The other two elements are instead treated as opposition schools, meaning the elementalist true specialist wizard must expend 2 slots to prepare spells with the apporopriate sub-types. For example an earth true specialist wizard would have to expend 2 3rd level slots to cast fireball once and would be completely unable to cast spells with the air subtype or use spells with the air subtype from spell-completion or spell-trigger items. This replaces the arcane school ability. Spell Specialization: At 5th level, a true specialist wizard receives Preferred Spell as bonus feat even if the true specialist wizard does not meet the prerequisites. The true specialist must choose a spell from his specialty school for this feat. In addition, the true specialist casts the spell chosen with the bonus feat granted by this class ability with a +1 bonus to its caster level. At 10th level and every 5 levels beyond 10th, the true specialist receives another spell specialization. This ability replaces the bonus feats normally gained by wizards. ![]()
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
![]() I'm really enjoying the look of the Gunslinger class. It just screams cowboy or cowgirl. Makes one want to watch a western. That being said I did have a few questions 1st: Would I be able to Deadly Aim with a firearm within the first range increment? the text for Deadly Aim goes as following: Deadly Aim (Combat)
Since an attack against someone within the first range increment is resolved against the target's touch AC but outside of the first range increment it is resolved as normal attack. Does this mean that I'd have to be in the second range increment to be able to make use of deadly aim? Seems a bit... awkward as then I have to suffer the -2 to fire at long range just to be able to use deadly aim. 2nd: Can Lightning Reload Deed work in conjunction with Signature Deed? The name of the Lightning Reload Deed feat implies that it is in effect a Deed and thus can be affected by Signature Deed yet its format is different from the Deft Shootist Deed which is like so: Deft Shootist Deed (Grit)
This implies that the Deft Shootist Deed feat is actually giving the gunslinger a real deed while the other 'deed' feats are simply feats that you can spend grit to activate despite the word "Deed" in there names. This makes me under the impression that Signature Deed can't be used to augment Lightning Reload Deed which could bring up some damage issues in the future when comparing to the archer. Just a few questions I thought I'd voice out. Thanks for any response. |