So we all know that the Kineticist is poorly written, but I would like to see what the general consensus is regarding the interaction of these two abilities. The relevant portion of the ability "Metakinesis" states the following: Quote: When she uses a double kinetic blast, all modifications, such as metakinesis and infusions, apply to both of the blasts, but the kineticist needs to pay the burn cost only once. Now, Flurry of Blasts allows us to obtain up to a potential SIX blasts, with haste at level 20, via a form infusion. If I were to "Maximize" my blast using Metakinesis, how would it interact with Flurry of Blasts? I only see 3 possible outcomes: 1) It does not apply at all.
Literally just thought of this while I was writing it, but technically the Flurry of Blasts is still one "Blast", just an infused one. All of the individual missiles from FoB only get one spell pen check, one saving throw (if against the same target), and you only make one attack roll (if against the same target). What do you all think?
We are having a bit of a debate currently and are seeking the general consensus. The Paizo FAQ clearly states that a two-handed weapon wielded in one hand still gets the +50% damage benefit while being wielded in one hand. We have agreed on that point. We are now arguing about what can and can't be done with the extra hand. The currently opposing viewpoints are that you can wield a shield (full shield, not just a buckler) in that free hand and keep the damage bonus. The other point is that you cannot use anything in the offhand that would provide a mechanical bonus and maintain the bonus damage. The example in this case is a Medium character using a small Falchion in one hand and a shield in the other, taking the penalty for using an inappropriately sized weapon. Thoughts?
I am debating with a friend currently about the validity of one of my more entertaining character ideas and would like a ruling. The Unchained Rogue's Finesse Training ability reads as follows: Quote: At 1st level, a rogue gains Weapon Finesse as a bonus feat. In addition, starting at 3rd level, she can select any one type of weapon that can be used with Weapon Finesse (such as rapiers or daggers). Once this choice is made, it cannot be changed. Whenever she makes a successful melee attack with the selected weapon, she adds her Dexterity modifier instead of her Strength modifier to the damage roll. If any effect would prevent the rogue from adding her Strength modifier to the damage roll, she does not add her Dexterity modifier. The rogue can select a second weapon at 11th level and a third at 19th level. He maintains that the only weapons available for use with this ability are those that, by default, have the "Finesse" ability on them or are Light weapons, as per the Pathfinder Weapon chart. I say that any weapon that can BECOME Finessable (if in fact that is even a word), such as a Longsword wrapped in an Effortless Lace are able to be used with the ability. (Obviously this is not normally something you could obtain at level one, but it isn't unreasonable that you could have one by level 3 or 4.) What do you all think?
Per the text of Staggering Critical - Quote: Benefit: Whenever you score a critical hit, your opponent becomes staggered for 1d4+1 rounds. A successful Fortitude save reduces the duration to 1 round. The DC of this Fortitude save is equal to 10 + your base attack bonus. The effects of this feat do not stack. Additional hits instead add to the duration. What exactly does it not stack with? It seems like the text in this context the last two sentences directly contradict each other. Do multiple Staggering Criticals mean multiple rounds of stagger, either for 1 or 1d4+1 rounds depending on save?
lowericon wrote:
Did you really need to necro a 2+ year old thread?
I'm in need of some backup here. This rules question involves the feat Mobility, and races of varying size categories. I am currently playing a Halfling Champion of Irori. To ignore most of the boring details, the relevant information is as follows: I am using Unchained Monk instead of Monk, I possess the feat "Mobility" (as linked above), and I am permanently under the effect of Reduce Person, lowering my size category to Tiny. This reduces my range to zero, meaning I must be inside of an opponent's square to hit them. Now, I am using Flying Kick when possible, which we have agreed can be used with Acrobatics to avoid taking AOO's for moving through threatened areas. This means that at the end of 20 feet of movement, I am taking a flurry action as long as I am inside of their square. I can use acrobatics to avoid any AOO's for moving through any reach squares, but I will still be subject to an AOO for moving INTO the occupied square. Mobility:
Benefit: You get a +4 dodge bonus to Armor Class against attacks of opportunity caused when you move out of or within a threatened area. A condition that makes you lose your Dexterity bonus to Armor Class (if any) also makes you lose dodge bonuses.
Dodge bonuses stack with each other, unlike most types of bonuses. Here is where our argument starts. He states that the feat specifically spells out I only gain the AC bonus against AOO's caused by moving out of or through a threatened square, and that I do not get it for moving INTO an opponent's square. I insist that the two are not mutually exclusive. You can attack into your own square, which means that the square adjacent to him (which I pass through) and the square he is in (which I end my turn in) are both considered threatened squares. Therefore, an AOO triggered by me entering an opponent's square IS an attack triggered by moving through a threatened space (from adjacent to inside of him).
I'm actually curious about this too. We are arguing right now that Pounce and Flying Kick are both considered "charge", since they allow you to make a full attack at the end of a move action. This would disallow acrobatics checks, since acrobatics hinders movement, which isnt allowed during a charge action. I am arguing that because charge is obviously charge, and pounce specifically says its a charge, while flying kick just says its a movement, that i should be able to use an acrobatics action. Can we get an official ruling on whether or not Flying Kick is a "Charge" and disallows acrobatics to avoid attacks of opportunity?
As I get ready to pick up the reigns from my current DM (who is running ROTRL for us currently), I am looking as some house rules that I would like to implement. Most / all of these are me making modifications to things that I have identified as a problem and/or hindrance to the campaign. I would appreciate it if you all could take a look at them and offer up some criticism to help me balance them out a bit. Level up gives back HDdHD for non-casters, and 1/2HDdHD for casters as well as their max spell level back in spells. ((A fighter leveling to 12 would receive a 12d12 heal, while a wizard would receive a 3d6 heal and 6 levels worth of spells.)) Bonus for picking up prestige classes - by prestige class. ((Using this to promote variety/flavor and get them to invest more in their characters.)) Level up once you get the experience to. ((Will only ever be between combats, experience handed out at my discretion.)) 20 pt buy - Fast exp track
RAW within reason. No non-core archetypes. ((Non-core archetypes are a problem for us in ROTRL, and have led to some people being seriously underpowered while the people playing core classes spank the baddies. One of my favorite sayings is "learn the rules before you try to break them", and I'm trying to apply that here.)) Magic item loot will be altered if unusable by anyone in the party. ((Hook Mountain pissed me off. I stopped counting how many +1 Large Ogre Hooks we found.))
My question is this: Do synthesists who pick up the half-dragon template gain the +4 natural armor bonus while fused? My GM says no according to his understanding of the rules. HeroLab and I say yes. RAW indicates that it would stack. I'll present the relevant rules and let you all decide. d20pfsrd wrote: Synthesist: The synthesist uses the eidolon’s base attack bonus, and gains the eidolon’s armor and natural armor bonuses and modifiers to ability scores. It says above that he gains the armor bonus, not that he uses it, as with base attack right before the bolded text. Point in favor, 1-0 If you scroll down a bit under Creating a Half-Dragon, you will read: Paizo wrote: Half-Dragon: "Armor Class: Nat. armor improves by +4." The bonus says that it IMPROVES by four. This implies that it is added to the existing number. 2-0 d20pfsrd wrote: Eidolon: The number noted here is the eidolon’s base total armor bonus. This bonus may be split between an armor bonus and a natural armor bonus, as decided by the summoner. This number is modified by the eidolon’s base form and some options available through its evolution pool. An eidolon cannot wear armor of any kind, as the armor interferes with the summoner’s connection to the eidolon. This is the only thing I could find restricting when an eidolon would gain an armor bonus. I have included it for for the sake of completeness, but it isn't really relevant since there is no actual armor being worn. Maybe worth half a point. 2-0.5. As you can see, according to RAW it all stacks. I'm fine with GM rulings, but he can usually be persuaded by a well-constructed arguement.
Question is as thus... I have +4 str from 2 picks of enhancement, costing me a total of 4 evolution points. If I evolution surge, can I pick up the large size evolution? It says it double the requirements of stat enhancement evolutions, but does that necessarily apply since im picking up large for a limited time via a spell?
I've currently got a wizard build that is focusing on always being first to strike, and using crowd control methods to brings the battle into my favor. The question I have is regarding trait stacking, specifically racial vs general. As an elf, the "Fleet-Footed" alternative racial trait adds a "+2 racial bonus on initiative checks. The combat trait "Reactionary" adds a "+2 trait bonus" to initiative checks. I simply wish to know whether or not these two stack. While they are both due to traits, they are specifically labeled as different bonuses.
So according to my GM, as a synthesist archetype summoner, I do not gain evasion / multiattack / imp evasion through leveling up. I would have to spend feats to pick them up. The only rules I can find regarding the issue are: 1) Synthesist: The synthesist also gains access to the eidolon’s special abilities and the eidolon’s evolutions. 2) Eidolon: This includes a number of abilities gained by all eidolons as they increase in power. Each of these bonuses is described below. (Evasion, Multiattack, and Imp. Evasion are listed under this heading) but on the other side, 3) Extraordinary Abilities: Extraordinary abilities are non-magical. They are, however, not something that just anyone can do or even learn to do without extensive training. Effects or areas that suppress or negate magic have no effect on extraordinary abilities. 4) Synthesist: "The eidolon mimics all of the synthesist’s movements," -- Ergo, while the synthesist uses the Eidolon's ability scores, increasing his physical abilities, the synthesist is ultimately the one doing the moving. What do you all think should be the ruling?
Recently got in a spat with my DM regarding a rules interpretation about my Synthesist. Before reading any further, know that I am well aware that he can rule however he wants. If he said that, fine. But as he is arguing errata from the books, I want to see who is correct. Character in question (while in Eidolon mode) has 4 legs, 10 arms with light weapons, and pounce @ lvl 7. 1) Regarding the Multi-Weapon Fighting feat. a) As MWF essentially acts at TWF for anyone with more than 2 arms, am I capable of making a full attack action with my bite and 10 arms at the end of my charge by utilizing pounce? b) My summoner has TWF. As per the special text under MWF (Special: This feat replaces the Two-Weapon Fighting feat for creatures with more than two arms.), does TWF turn into MWF upon entering Eidolon mode? He is arguing that the two do not become one creature, even though under Eidolon it states "The eidolon mimics all of the synthesist’s movements, and the synthesist perceives through the eidolon’s senses and speaks through its voice, as the two are now ONE creature." The alternative would be waiting to pick up MWF until I hit lvl 10 and can gain more limbs via Aspect. I will add more later, these are the only two I remember at the moment. |