Synthesist - Shielded Meld and Split Forms


Rules Questions


A vanilla summoner in his merge forms would still gain the effect of shielded ally. Does the synthesist still gain shielded meld while under the effects of split form?


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Your premise is wrong. A vanilla summoner who has used Merge Forms to merge with his eidolon would not benefit from Shield Ally because he cannot be targeted at all while merged.

Is a synthesist summoner fused with his eidolon after he uses split forms? If not (as appears to be the case), he would not be able to benefit from Shielded Merge.


David knott 242 wrote:

Your premise is wrong. A vanilla summoner who has used Merge Forms to merge with his eidolon would not benefit from Shield Ally because he cannot be targeted at all while merged.

Is a synthesist summoner fused with his eidolon after he uses split forms? If not (as appears to be the case), he would not be able to benefit from Shielded Merge.

Agree completely on shielded ally. He is not within the eidolon's reach.I am not sure you are reading that right. The names of the abilities do seem to suggest that but

"At 16th level, as a swift action, the synthesist and his fused eidolon can split into two creatures: the synthesist and the eidolon. Both have the same evolutions. The synthesist emerges in a square adjacent to the eidolon if possible. All effects and spells currently targeting the fused synthesist-eidolon affect both the synthesist and the eidolon."

Considering they both have evolutions it seems to me he is fused. The other side of that I see is it calls it the synthesist and his eidolon. Might be FAQ worthy.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Winfred wrote:
David knott 242 wrote:

Your premise is wrong. A vanilla summoner who has used Merge Forms to merge with his eidolon would not benefit from Shield Ally because he cannot be targeted at all while merged.

Is a synthesist summoner fused with his eidolon after he uses split forms? If not (as appears to be the case), he would not be able to benefit from Shielded Merge.

Agree completely on shielded ally. He is not within the eidolon's reach.I am not sure you are reading that right. The names of the abilities do seem to suggest that but

"At 16th level, as a swift action, the synthesist and his fused eidolon can split into two creatures: the synthesist and the eidolon. Both have the same evolutions. The synthesist emerges in a square adjacent to the eidolon if possible. All effects and spells currently targeting the fused synthesist-eidolon affect both the synthesist and the eidolon."

Considering they both have evolutions it seems to me he is fused. The other side of that I see is it calls it the synthesist and his eidolon. Might be FAQ worthy.

Note the text "All effects and spells currently targeting the fused synthesist-eidolon affect both the synthesist and the eidolon." I would think that one could argue that the shielded meld ability is an effect as it is supernatural in nature.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Synthesist - Shielded Meld and Split Forms All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.